freshman psych rears its ugly head


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay this might be a cracked out post as I´m sick and haven´t eaten anything since dinner last night.

Diarrhea is the number one problem with PCV´s in Nicaragua. Most have succumbed to it in my training group. I have been very proud of my fuerte stomach and my madre´s cooking. But then I woke up and, in the immortal words of ´Mean Girls,¨my stomach felt like it was going to fall out my butt.¨

After that ordeal at 5.00am, passed out from 6.30 to 10.30 when my madre came into my room with the phone and said someone was on the phone. Talked with the peace corps med office and to the hard core doc - whom i love normally but don´t love so much when i´ve just been woken up with a phone in my face and am being ordered to do stuff.

At any rate, mixed a package of un-gatorade suero into my nalgene - which is spanish for ass tasting sugary crap in a bottle - for dyhdration and put myself on the bus to get the lab for a stool and blood sample. Awesome. All kinds of questions in the español that i had no idea how to handle. Did i bring my own fecal sample? Ummm, no. So i was given a baby food gerber jar and told to do my biz. Awesome.

Now I have 3 hours to kill in Esteli while i wait for results before I go to the farmacia for meds. And it´s monsooning and I wouldn´t doubt that the power will go off and I´ll have to sit for 3 hours instead of answering emails.

.....

I miss fall. Miss crisp, chilly, days and acorns and color changing trees. Autumn is my favorite season, by far. And I didn´t realize that I missed it until I saw everyone´s away messages on gchat about fall and got an email from my mom. When I get really missing it I´ll give in and read ¨Where the Red Fern Grows¨and succumb to the homesickness. Assuming I can find the book that is.

......

Yesterday Iowa and Vtech and I made cajetas de coco with our youth group. The recipe is basically big blocks of cane sugar, water, and coconut.. and a pail of milk. They were awesome. Next time when I come in with my laptop I´ll post photos of the process.

......

Okay I am way out of it. Signing off from the Nica.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.2363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb