PCV goals: espanol y cafe


Advertisement
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is what I want out of my two years as a future PCV… I wan to understand everything that is said to me in the espanol and I want to be able to respond and blabber on about anything and everything…

So, fluency in Spanish. Goal # 1. I can do this on my own.

Goal #2 hinges on the PC a bit and where they decide to place me. Yesterday JHardCorps gave us a preview of the sites that are available for us to serve in. And, after our week of tech training in the countryside - starting tomorrow - when we return next week to civilization we have the Site Fair where we talk to volunteers and choose our top three sites…

And I fell in love with one site. Which they WARN us not to do since there is absolutely no guarantee that I’ll get that site …

But Goal #2 is to gain an intense knowledge of coffee production… and to work in the business of agro tourism….

I would prefer a larger site where I can learn about coffee, but where there are opportunities for other projects too… like teaching some English classes on the side and planting school gardens and where there are differing needs throughout the pueblo …and where it all doesn’t hinge on one or two super necessary projects.

The other day VTech and I were walking and talking and he was like, “Molly, what are you going to do with an intricate knowledge of coffee?” and my response was (with clandrus in mind), “What WON’T I do with an intricate knowledge of coffee?”

The whole idea of eco-tourism fascinates me… especially with luxury products like coffee and wine. The idea that people will pay farmers to come pick grapes or coffee beans for them “for the experience,”… that it’s “the thing to do,” among elite circles…

Also, the fact that you never hear about Nican coffee… it’s always Costa Rican coffee.


Advertisement



14th October 2008

Where is your Dream Site??
Are you allowed to say? And, what, in particular, MAKES it your Dream Site to work in for the next 2 years? What features make it stand out? It was SO!!!!!! good to hear your voice, Molly! We sure do miss you. It's good to hear that you're still so eagerly learning! Coffee....guess I need to reacquire the taste, huh?
17th October 2008

eco-tourism
I think eco tourism sounds fantastic! And you're welcome to share your knowledge of coffee with me any day. In fact, if I have some one who can fill me in or even provide me with the best coffees of the world, I'm not going to complain!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb