Wandering Aimlessly


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I got lost in Nicaragua today because things don't always go as planned. I had information that I could camp at a place called Centro Ecoturistico La Máquina. There was alleged to be a pretty waterfall here with good swimming in a pool below the falls. This sounded like a fine way to beat the heat so I wanted to check it out. I arrived early in the afternoon to find the place mostly deserted. The manager on duty told me that he didn't know if I could camp and that he would have to discuss the matter with the owner. I went swimming in the meanwhile after I paid the nominal entry fee and enjoyed a dip in coolish water. The falls and swimming hole were nice but I've seen better and the water wasn't exactly what I would call pristine. I found out after I was done swimming that I would not be allowed to camp there for security reasons. I took that to mean that it wouldn't be safe which meant that I would have nix the camping idea and formulate a Plan B. I couldn't think what to do so I just started driving. I headed back in the general direction of Granada where I most definitely didn't want to go so I turned toward Masaya thinking that I might find a hotel there. I had a little time to burn so I turned from the main road into a little town called Caterina to see if I could find my way to a mirador (viewpoint) overlooking the Laguna de Apoyo. I got hopelessly lost in the maze of streets but I found a hotel. I love it when a plan comes together...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb