Day 7


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I wake up around 7 extremely groggy. I only got 4 hours of sleep. I go to the bathroom, drink some water and attempt to sleep. After an hour or so I give up and head to see Annette. She asks me how I take my coffee. I didn't want any but felt obliged since she already poured it. "white man who likes it black!" she observes.




I sit at a table under the coconut tree. I lay on my back and try to clear my head. The view of the trees overhead with the birds flying around is soothing. The Spanish man walks by, "how was the party last night?" he asks. I chuckle a little and don't answer yet. "if you laugh immediately when I ask you then I know it was good!" I wondered what he was referring to, since I didn't remember telling him my plans. I wondered if i was loud when i got back last nig since i didnt see robert. Robert last night had shown up at the karoke bar while i was there. I joked with him telling him to get back to work. After I said that I turned around and he was gone. I worried he took me seriously. I then recalled the spanish man was coming home from dinner when I was leaving for karaoke.




Annette comes with my food and tells me to "wake up sleepy head." Shes brough more grapefruit, it's toasted this time and reminds me more of fried yuca root.




Omar shows up and says hello. There is a collapsed tree trunk where I was eating. I asked what we there and he told me it was a glorious mango tree killed by the digging of the crabs. We spend maybe 15 minutes talking about the crabs that live on the property. He tells me he used to hunt them and will try to catch one for me. So now I might get free crab added to my breakfast as well.




I spend some time poking the crabs with a stick. I remember I'm 30. I continue to poke them anyways.




It's about 20 minutes until yoga class when I get up from the front garden. I decide to participate. I tell the girls I'll catch up on the beach.




It's two couples and me in the class. While I normally have excellent balance and good flexibility I'm still groggy. I struggle in the class. The instructor thinks I'm a mess but is very patient and knowledgable. When it's over I feel much better and head for the beach.




The girls are already there. It's even slower today on the beach than any other day. The good thing about coming during slow season is you get to make friends with the locals easier. You also see the same cast of characters.




One I had yet to talk about comes by again today. The man is a mute and can't speak. He gestures furiously with his hands and we had yet to figure it out. This morning I guessed correctly on 3 things. First he asked if Melanie was my girlfriend. Then he pointed at here head and followed his finger towards her feet and made an ok sign with his fingers. I asked "she's beautiful?"




He claps his hand nods his head and murmurs excitedly. He's been trying to say that for 3 days. He asked what her name was and how to spell it. I tell him and he writes it in the sand and puts a heart. I lai and shake his hand.




The Jamaican people all so happy and personable. Even the ones I had problems with. You can't tell me they don't live a high quality of life.




We do a whole lot of lounging on the beach. The sun is out heavy in the morning... The rest of the day was cloudy.




Pete comes back and tells me I missed out on a lot of fun last night. I was slightly annoyed and asked what happened to ladies night. I honestly think he was just telling me something to get me to go and didn't care if the girls went or not. I still can't figure out if he lied on purpose or not. He gets closer and tells me I got "fucking dark." Later that morning I go into a bathroom and pull my shorts down and look at my tan line. I realize this is all people in Bristol will talk about with me for a good week.




Mario comes over while the girls are in the water. He's says we need to take them to a party so that he can distrAct one while I talk to the other. Then he starts selling me on a jet ski ride again. He says I've relaxed too much and I need some adventure. He continues about it for about ten solid minutes. I'm polite the whole time. Finally he just tells me he hasn't given a ride in a while and if I could just help him out. I tell him I will tomorrow. I have no problem helping him, he's my friend.




I buy some crab off a beach vendor and then eat fish for lunch at a nearby restaurant. I get sharp stomach pains around 4 and it starts to rain. The girls stick around and swim in the rain.




I head into the craft market to get some things. I see a sweet wooden wind chime. Its $13 US. When I get back to the room I look at my cash, have about $80 US worth. My bus ride back will cost $20. I withdrew $400 before I left for Jamaica and charged about $120 worth of food to my credit card. In the end this week with airfare and lodging cost me about $1400. Money well spent. I budget many things in my life, but experiences is not one of them.




It's a lazy rainy afternoon sitting in the yoga studio. I briefly talk to British woman who is also staying there. I've seen her around, but she's never made eye contact. She's real fidgety the whole time she's talking to me. I do some stretches to maybe ease her anxiety, it just seems to make her more uncomfortable.




The girls get back from shopping. They want to go the jungle (a club). Their plan is to stay there and then get one hour of sleep before their bus picks them up tomorrow at 6 am.






I fall asleep accidentally around 8:30. Melanie is knocking at my door at 11:30 to go out. "Come on Paulo we need to go celebrate your birthday!" I open the door and explain I just woke up and for them to go ahead and I'll catchup.




I sit in the dark for a minute, I'm tired and my stomach still hurts. I kind of wanted to wake up at 6 and spend the morning on the beach. I've had enough fun, I need to give back to my body tonight. My head hits the pillow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb