What was I thinking.....?


Advertisement
Jamaica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Jamaica » Kingston
December 30th 2013
Published: December 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Jamaica1Jamaica1Jamaica1

As you land in Kingston, you can not see land under you until you are right about to touch down! What a crazy feeling.
What was I thinking? - That is the main question running through my head right now as I try to fall asleep. Not because things are bad here, quite the opposite in fact... but just because I never thought too much about what I was getting myself into while I was still in Canada. The main reason for that of course was not wanting to cry everyday about who you are going to miss and how much etc.

It has only just hit me that this I have chosen to live in Jamaica for the next 364 days!

For those of you who don't know the whole story, here is the 'Coles notes' version: Mid November I decided I would be heading to Jamaica in January to coach a synchronized swimming team... so I left Port Alberni and moved home to my parents. I had just over one month to spend time with my family and get everything in order to move. It was hectic to say the least, especially with Christmas thrown into the mix. But with the wonderful support of my family, I made it to Jamaica today.... and while there were many obstacles ( including almost
Jamaica2Jamaica2Jamaica2

Adding a touch of home to my room with a little canada flag and photos! - ( Also, for those who know me well, isnt it amazing that I only have one shelf of shoes with me for a whole year!!!! )
not getting on two different planes) it is great so far.

I am living in a town house in central Kingston with Diahann (Synchro club owner), her 14 year old daughter Breann, and Karen (who looks after us)... Everyone is very welcoming (or at least I think they are; I cant understand much they are saying yet), and I can see that it will be fun to have a little sister for a year.

Diahann picked me up from the airport in the Synchro Stars Van that I will be driving for the year. On our way to the insurance office, I got to experience driving on the "wrong" side of the road during crazy Jamaican rush-hour with pot holes in the road the size of my suitcase! I cant imagine having to drive here... But i will just avoid rush hour and cross my fingers! Once home, we ate, and I spent most of the evening unpacking, and sending the typical "I arrived safely emails".

Tomorrow I am being hosted by one of the other families in the club at their house for the day, and overnight for new years.... I will fill you in about more adventures after I am home!

Advertisement



31st December 2013

One shelf, eh?
Looks like your shoes are double-stacked, and under that "one shelf" if uou ask me. :)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb