Carnival


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Carnival Season!Carnival Season!Carnival Season!

This would be heavy after wearing this for 6 hours?
It’s Party Time! Carnival Season is here! Carnival in Jamaica is an opportunity to party, party, party, and party some more. I took advantage of this party season for one day only, Carnival Sunday.

Carnival Sunday is the epitome of this party season. On Carnival Sunday people flaunt crazy costumes and dance through the streets of Kingston ending at the National Stadium for a free concert. Some friends and I headed out after church to meet the parade and masses of people near Devon House. From Devon House we paraded for about five hours all the way through the streets, through rain and shine, until reaching the National Stadium. We entered the national stadium and joined the crowd for the concert. It was absolutely packed! We were jammed in tighter than sardines. I had a great time, despite the crowds and craziness.

The day before Carnival Sunday Meg and I traveled with the Passionists volunteers to Alligator Pond to search for Jamaica’s Manatees. Once we made it there we found a guide to take us through the marsh-like waters. Our guide told us that the manatees usually appear in the late-afternoon/ evenings rather than earlier in the day. Sadly,
ParadingParadingParading

dancing in the streets
we didn’t see any manatees but we did get a great look at a three-legged crocodile. Our row boat came with in inches of bumping into the croc. Strangely, this didn’t seem a bit dangerous or odd to me at the time, and truthfully coming with in inches of a crocodile still doesn’t alarm me. After missing the manatees we went to relax at “Blue Hole”. Blue Hole is a crystal clear spring that leads right to a tourist free beach (well except us) that went on as far as my eyes could see. Alligator Pond is definitely “off the beaten path” and that is why I probably enjoyed it so much. That evening we stopped at “Little Ochi” for some dinner. We selected our fresh fish out of a deep freeze that may or may not have been plugged in, either way the fish were right out of the ocean (I considered the toothy fish but then decided perhaps it might be too dangerous for me with those fangs.). We ate our fish and bammy (a fried bread) under the canopy of palms leaves in a boat turned table while we watched the sun set over the Caribbean. Very
Blue HoleBlue HoleBlue Hole

beautiful water
relaxing! The only other thing I needed was a margarita…but hey, it’s not Mexico.

Since I’ve last written I’ve also been to Strawberry Hill. Strawberry Hill is a very nice Hotel/Restaurant about one hour outside Kingston. Stars such as Mick Jagger and Naomi Campbell have had a nice stay here. Now you know if Mick Jagger has stayed here it must be a nice place : ). I really love flowers, so that is why I loved this place so much.

I’m writing this blog during class today. I only had four students show up due to another class going to another place. We had an abbreviated class and then of course we ended up listening to the dancehall and reggae tunes on my computer. We have now been sitting here for over 30 minutes doing absolutely nothing except listening to music and staring off into the distance. I have become immersed into this culture. I know this because I have accepted this more laid back lifestyle. Everyone is content listening to and singing along with Bob Marley’s “Three Little Birds”. Now this is Jamaica.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Appetizing, eh?Appetizing, eh?
Appetizing, eh?

this is one toothy fish!


6th May 2006

Your strawberry hills pictures are so beautiful
9th May 2006

Nancy, you take excellent photos. I forgot to tell you that. Absolutely beautiful.
8th April 2009

well long time no see.
hey everybody this is monifa from virginia .I wish Iwas down there with my other haif of family.now im on my springbreak right now but I hope to see you up here for the jamiaican carnival.from june28-29 saturday and sunday. hope to see you here. have a great blessed day.

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb