Anything Goes!


Advertisement
Jamaica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Jamaica » Kingston
January 19th 2006
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ParadiseParadiseParadise

Beautiful Negril!
Wow I’ve had fun over the holiday.

First, my family came to visit Jamaica. Charlie, Betty and Kelsey made there way to Kingstontown where we had a grand ole time. Right away we packed up and headed to Ocho Rios and Oracabessa to relax and spend some time on the beach. Of course we went to Dunn’s River Falls where my mom proudly climbed the entire falls…way to go Mom! We also went snorkeling in Oracabessa. Albert, our guide, took us to the reef in his glass bottom boat, so mom could watch from above. My mom really bonded with Albert. The day before our snorkel trip I spoke with Albert about how much I enjoyed Stingrays and I asked him if he ever sees them on the reef. Sadly, he told me he doesn’t see them often. However, Albert really came through for us and me especially. He took us to an area of beach where a local is raising and training eleven sting rays to eventually start a new tourist attraction. Much to my excitement I was able to have quite the encounter with the beautiful sting rays. The man that is training them showed us how he has trained the sting rays to come to him when he hits to metal rods together in the water. He then let each of us get in the water with him, one at a time, and feed and touch the sting rays. The sting rays had slimy skin that felt a little sandy. Their tales felt strong and bony. Sting Rays are very graceful creatures. I love them: ).

My family and I returned to Kingston in time for New Years Eve Mass. New Years is a big holiday in Jamaica so people were very energetic. My family received a Jamaican welcoming to the church and was told that the congregation hoped to see them tomorrow. So the next morning we headed back to Mass for another three hour celebration. I was really happy to be able to show Kingston and St. Pius to my family. I wanted them to meet all of the wonderful people I live and work with. My mom told me she was most impressed with Mass. The energy in Mass here can be overwhelming but is also very fun. I think they had a pleasant time in Jamaica.

Hello, Dr. Nancy!
Since school hasn’t been in session over the holiday I have spent most of my time working as a full time dental assistant. I pretty much have the whole procedure down pat. Dr. Pedro even let me clean his teeth this week. He was one of the wimpiest patients we’ve had yet. Even with the whining he said I did good job. I am now the official teeth cleaner. I have worked by myself and then have Pedro check my work. I know how to remove calculus from teeth, as well as spot cavities.

Crocodile Hunting
A week ago Friday, Pedro, Meg and I decided to go crocodile hunting in Black River. We took the bus from Kingston. The bus was perhaps just as much fun as the crocodile hunting. The bus driver tries to fit as many people possible in the bus. I sat in the back row of the bus with 5 other people. There are only seats for four. I was lucky and one of the people was a small boy. Pedro perhaps had the most interesting seat partners. On the left side of Pedro sat a Rasta, who was the most
Albert's boat!Albert's boat!Albert's boat!

We went snorkeling/glass bottom boating in Ocho Rios.
vocal person on the bus. The bus had previously blown a fuse so there was no music onboard. The Rasta insisted on music, so he yelled “Music, Driver, Music” (only with a Jamaican accent). He eventually convinced the “doctor” of the bus to get the driver to stop at a gas station to get the fuse. The Rasta started counting every gas station that we drove by until we finally stopped. Everyone figured the Rasta would be a little quieter now that he had his music but that wasn’t the case. The Rasta began to echo and answer all of the rhetorical questions asked in the music along the beginning complaints of his seating situation. He began yelling across the bus that he should only have to pay half price since only half of his butt was on the seat. I didn’t really blame him…their really wasn’t any room to move. Nonetheless, he provided a very interesting ride to Black River.

Once in Black River we easily found somewhere we could go on a crocodile safari. Luckily, we have been able to prove to everyone we are residents of Jamaica and receive a “discount”, or at least not
lunch!lunch!lunch!

yummy jerk chicken! Who can resist an oceanview bungalow
the tourist fee. Coincidently, there was another group of people at the Safari that happened to be from Lenexa, Kansas. Sadly, I didn’t get to “talk to them, except comment on their Kansas shirt. We took a boat up river where we began to keep our eyes peeled. Right away amidst the Mangrove trees we spotted our first Croc. We saw about four crocs overall. These crocs are a different species than the aggressive ones we hear about in other exotic places, and were very passive. Our guide told us that they often swim towards the boat (sadly, I bet the safari companies feed the crocs occasionally). One croc lied out on a log for all of us to watch “him” bask in the sun. He then opened his mouth to show us his teeth. Interestingly, crocs open their mouths to perspire. They cannot sweat through their tough skin, so they open their mouths. We saw lots of great water fowl along the river. I thought of Erika when I was bird watching. The trees were filled with Cattle Egrets. We drove the boat a little more upstream where our guide and driver stopped the boat and asked us who
Nice teeth!Nice teeth!Nice teeth!

"Do you want to go swimming with me?" Yes!!!!
was going swimming. I then changed (behind a towel—I can’t resist the water), and jumped into the water, the same river that the croc’s live. It was quite the thrill. The water was perfect.

Crazy boys
I’m still tutoring 6th grade boys from DuPont Primary School. Last week, we went through a book all about animals/birds that live near the sea. Two days later, five boys walk over to Pius and hand me a little clear bag with what I at first thought was spider inside. I thought the boys maybe wanted to gross me out (not that a spider grosses me out at all). I was really excited to find out that they had brought me a small hermit crab, just like the one the saw in the book. I felt really special to know that they thought of me and got something out of the book. I released “Akeem” later that day at the beach in Mo-bay. The 6th graders, though they may be the most rambunctious group of boys, are my favorite to work with.

(h2) I LOVE THE BEACH! (/h2)
Meaghan, Pedro, and Lesroy spent last weekend in Mo-bay and Negril. It was beautiful. On Friday we spent the day at Doctor’s Cave beach, which is one of the best in Jamaica. We swam and snorkeled. Friday night we got dinner and did some dancing at, no where else but, Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville. I’m not a huge fan of chain restaurants, but sometimes it’s nice to be back in an “American” atmosphere. I did enjoy the dinner and dancing. After sleeping in on Saturday, we decided to check out the 7 miles of white sand beaches in Negril. I’ve been waiting to go to Negril for a long time. It was great. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxing. I could spend days on the beach there. We lunch at a jerk hut in Negril where some girls were playing school. I got to play along and became the PE teacher and even gave a math test. In exchange they drew my portrait with pencil on lined paper…classic. In Negril I was offered Ganja for the very first time. You may be surprised to find out that I declined : ). The main reason I’ve really wanted to visit Negril is to watch the infamous sunset over the ocean water.
Jamaican Water FowlJamaican Water FowlJamaican Water Fowl

one of the birds on Black River
Oh it was beautiful. I spent Saturday night wading in the ocean water watching the sun melt into the sea…breathtaking. I WILL go back.

Anything Goes

School is back in session and I’m back to teaching. This term I am teaching all of the English and Math classes. Meaghan is no longer teaching but now working at a Mustard Seed Community called Jerusalem Home, which is an AIDS home. I’m jealous of her but I’ll survive. I spoke with all of my classes about how things went last semester, one class asked for less homework and the other begged for me. Every one is different. Thank goodness the classes are taught different material. My students still have complex and interesting lives. Last week I let the cosmetology class cut my hair and give me “streaks”---which looks more like an orange wisdom stripe down the middle of my head. At least I’m in Jamaica where anything goes. Today, the Rasta gardener at Pius told me that I needed a new hairstyle like two of my students….a short spiky burgundy wig. I told him I would ask them if I could get one. A high percentage of women
Mangrove TreesMangrove TreesMangrove Trees

Mangrove Trees on the Black River, very serene.
where wigs here…once again…anything goes.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

DetourDetour
Detour

The main highway across the Island...the roads are always full of surprises.
Sunset over the CaribbeanSunset over the Caribbean
Sunset over the Caribbean

It's just so beautiful and relaxing!
Meg in Mo-bayMeg in Mo-bay
Meg in Mo-bay

Such a pure laugh!
I LOVE WATER!I LOVE WATER!
I LOVE WATER!

Pedro and I enjoying the warm water:)
Meg and IMeg and I
Meg and I

Like my rasta braids?
AkeemAkeem
Akeem

My hermit crab! Isn't he cool?
Strange bite?  Strange bite?
Strange bite?

my leg turned bright red, hard, and was feverish. My leg is looking better these days.
Dental OFficeDental OFfice
Dental OFfice

I"m cleaning Troy's teeth.


20th January 2006

Nancy Jo!
Just wanted to let you know that you are the COOLEST person and you have made me want to go to the beach very badly...:)
28th January 2006

Loved your last entry
Its so nice to see you having so many wonderful adventures. I'm glad your family could visit. Happy New Year! I think of you often.
29th January 2006

vacation
just wanted to let you know that we had a great time there and mom is looking for pens and she has several collected and i also noticed that you had to use the picture where i am falling down Kelsey
2nd February 2006

Beautiful!!
nancy, those pictures are great! I think that is some kind of Night Heron... :) lovely talking to you darling, lovely.
14th June 2006

Bites
Don't worry about the bits hun. My daughter went to India in January and she was ALMOST eaten in Delhi. She had lumps as large as a golf ball. She is ok now

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb