Weekend... ending in sad news


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
October 8th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friday night we did end up staying in. Nadia, Julie, Kari, and I just hung out chatting about girly stuff on Kari's porch all night. It was nice and relaxing. I quite enjoy the porches in the evenings, I've decided.

Saturday I meant to go to the school and do some work, but got chatting online to different people. Had a nice chat with Eric... he's got some upcoming presentations speaking to different Universities. So proud of him... hard to express the feeling but I had goosebumps after our chat.

Spent the afternoon with Nadia, Kari, and Julie at Hotel Morales' Pool. It costs us 50 lempira to get in for the day. We lied by the pool, had some beers, and some more girly chats. We met a retired American man who was staying at the hotel. He says he comes to Honduras for 4 months of the year. This is his first year in Comayagua, but he really likes it so far. He's a retired police office/Military man. His name is Roger. I then went just down the street to call home and talk to the fam. As it's Thanksgiving in Canada, all my Mom's side of the family was over at my house, so I was able to talk to lots of people. It was nice to hear all their voices. It feels so weird not having Thanksgiving.

Lastnight we all decided to go out and check out a new club that opened on Friday night. It's called Paso Real. Apparently it was around last year but they did all new renovations and changed it all around. First we went to Morgan's bar for a couple drinks. Roger ended up coming (we had told him about it earlier that day) and bought us all a round of drinks. We also saw some of the guys from Donray's basketball team. We then head to Paso Real. It was alright. There was an 80 lempira cover, which was supposed to include only one drink, but Kari managed to sweet talk him into giving us all two. It was pretty busy and we had a pretty good time but not what I was expecting.

Today I slept it, did some laundry, watched some tv, and did some stuff online. I then rode my bike (forgot to mention that the school finally gave us some bikes) to Ricardo's, as we do most Sundays to see Brian play guitar. I ordered my regular Papaya juice and sat down at a table on the patio in the Parque. Shortly after Ricardo came out and said "so we lost our friend Brian huh?" I told him I had no idea. He said a shortly, older woman came and told him that Brian had packed up his stuff and left (Connie I'm assuming, since she lives with him and fits the description). I was shocked. I mean, I sort of knew he was talking about maybe having to go home because of a bad divorce he was currently going though, but I had no idea he'd actually pick up and go. I guess he thought he had no other option.

I text-messaged Kari, who was having a beer at Morgan's. She said she'd be over when she was done that beer. I guess she then told Morgan and Donray. Clarissa (Morgan's wife) said she saw him at the bank yesterday, so I guess he was withdrawling all of his money.

It started to rain so I moved inside, Kari joined me, we ordered dinner, and then talked about how sad it was that Brian left. We had both known of all the problems he was having at home with the divorce. It just sucks that he had to leave. He was great.

Donray's been really miserable lately too. Even he is talking about going home soon. Yikes. Apparently it happens every year so it's normal. At the beginning of the year we were all trying to guess who would be the ones to leave. None of us ever thought Brian. I guess this means Art will now substitute as the grade 1 teacher in the mornings and then when he teaches his own History classes in the afternoon, Amber (who teacher prepa in the mornings only) will have to teach or something. I don't know how it's going to work but it's really unfortunate. Brian was so good at it too. His kids absolutely loved him. Every day I would here the song "Kokomo" blaring from his room, and hearing his kids singing along. I'd peek down and see Brian dancing at the front of the classroom. Oh dear... those poor children.

Tomorrow should be an interesting day.

Advertisement



9th October 2006

Happy Thanksgiving
It was SO nice that you called when all the family was here - what a nice surprise. Everyone was so happy to hear your voice again. We had a lovely time together but missed you lots - it just didn't seem the same with out you and Aunt Lori here (she had to work)- I think someone said something about the two gabbiest ones missing? Love you and miss you lots! MOM

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb