Day at sea - Caribbean


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
January 23rd 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Formal occasionFormal occasionFormal occasion

Aann and Malcolm....dressed up for once and bout to go in for the formal dinner....
Captain dinner.
Formal evening where we share a table with two retired teachers.
We are requested to dress up. Those who want to make the effort do so, others use the self-service restaurant.
A comedian, in the late night show, tells a joke of Essex man’s idea of dressing up for the Captains dinner is to put on a clean t-shirt.



Ship’s gossip. There is much talk which resort we will skip because we will have to miss one if we are to remain on schedule having lost one day due to engine failure.

Up early at 7am to bag a spot on the deck only to discover others have already beaten me to it. Still I do find a secluded spot.

Here’s a novel problem faced by the cleaning staff: they can’t get into some rooms, those occupied by the physically challenged, because they spend their time in bed getting up only to eat.

I found myself sharing a table with one this morning. I sat down at what I took to be an empty table – yes there a dirty dish but I thought the waiter would soon clear it away. Wrong.
With the captainWith the captainWith the captain

the poor captain has to shake hundreds of hands and still keep smiling.
I had no sooner sat down than the previous occupant returned and tipped his second cooked breakfast on to the plate.



I fail to finish my lunch in the self-service restaurant after a man who must have been at least 35 stone seats himself next to me without so much as a “ do you mind?”


I am beginning to get real twitchy about this.
Somehow I didn’t envisage a Caribbean cruise spent amongst seriously overweight people.
Yes I know we have an obese epidemic yet had not expected to holiday amongst them.
This is the elephant in the room that nobody dares mention.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb