Traveling to Honduras


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
December 24th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Honduran CountrysideHonduran CountrysideHonduran Countryside

In Los Naranjos, Honduras
Since making the decision to undertake a trek through mainland Honduras, I've spent a lot of time simply wondering what to do to fill my days in a country with seemingly so much to offer. As expected, there is a lot of information online covering where to stay and what to see but none of it is the exact type of information that helps someone as indecisive as I am about planning. I'm a details person. I need to know whether the rental car smelled, if the road unexpectedly turns to dirt and exactly how many roaches to expect in your hotel room. So in an attempt to do something sensible, I plan to document virtually every twist and turn during this excursion into Honduras in hopes that someone like me might find it useful in the future.

A good pair of walking shoes
Reef shoes for swimming
Some kind of flip flops
Mastercard
Passport (duh)
US Driver's License (for car rental)
Small backpack
Swimsuit
A few shirts, shorts, pairs of socks and a pair of rugged pants
Camera
Bug spray

If you take much more than this with you, you're far too high maintenance to visit Central America. Of course, this is one man's opinion but it's a tried and tested one for sure. Once I went to Roatan island for a week with a pair of swim trunks, two shirts and a pair of sandals. Of course, I tend to be a dirty bastard when I'm on the island since showers are scarce and sweating is a fact of life. I'm bringing more this time while on the mainland because it's winter and apparently it gets colder in the mountains. I can't readily picture it being all that chilly but it pays to be prepared. Plus, I can't see myself getting one of those Guatemalan ponchos on the fly. That is the type of fashion decision that takes a little more thinking on my part. I mean, I can't commit to going native until I fully understand how the natives wear them. Otherwise I might end up looking like a cross dresser to them. You never know.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb