Country number 4- Honduras!


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
November 23rd 2007
Published: November 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is my first blog in a while! After spending 5 and a half weeks in Guatemala, I decided to miss out El Salvador and make my way to Honduras.

After being in Guatemala for the end of the rainy season and enjoying a few weeks of fab weather, I assumed the same would apply for Honduras. Unfortunatley not! Since I arrived over a week ago there has only been one day without any rain!

I started off my Honduran adventure in a town near the border called Copan Ruinas, which is famous for.......ruins!!!!! These were the most expensive ruins that I´ve visited in my travels so far- 7 pounds to get in- scandalous!

After Copan I travelled to a little beach town that the Lonely Planet Guidebook describes as ´Humdrum´!
Well, it wasn´t what I would call humdrum, but it wasn´t that exciting either! The best bit was reading a sign from the manager of my guest house basically warning all travellers from approaching him and asking him questions about Honduras. Later I read a local magazine quoting him as the best source of local knowledge in the area, so I guess he got fed up
The ruins at CopanThe ruins at CopanThe ruins at Copan

After being completely ´ruined out´in Mexico, these are the only ruin photos I have now after losing my memory card!
with everyone bothering him!!!
There was also a nice old fort in Omoa and I ate some yummy seafood.

Next stop was Tela, another beachy town but with more bad weather. On the morning I was leaving (with typical bad luck) the sun came out, so I did manage to grab an hour on the beach and swim in the Carribean!

Finally I made it to the Bay Islands for a few days of lying on the beach and scuba diving in crystal clear waters! Unfortunately the weather was a bit rubbish for most of the time. I stayed an extra day because the sun was shining on the morning I was supposed to be leaving, so I did get some beach time after all! Scuba diving was fab- the Bay Islands are supposed to be the cheapest place to dive in the world. I did 2 dives and saw some fab fish and coral. Unfortunately, although it was the cheapest place to dive, it was the most expensive to eat and sleep! But I had a fab time for the 4 nights I was there.

Where next? Who knows!.............


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Parrot!Parrot!
Parrot!

These were just wandering around the entrance to the ruins at Copan!
Water bags hanging from ceilingWater bags hanging from ceiling
Water bags hanging from ceiling

Apparently this is something to do with the refraction of light which deters mosquitos. Yey!
West Bay beach on RoatanWest Bay beach on Roatan
West Bay beach on Roatan

I took this on the only sunny day!


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb