keepin it hondu


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, August 2nd

Honduras is your urinal.

If you ever have to make, Hondu is where it´s at! No need for shame, just embrace it, whether it be mid-street, a nice corner, behind a truck or through a fence. I almost forgot how free you are here. It takes very little to reacclimate to his lifestyle: the peeing, spitting, lifting of the shirt above the stomach to the lower chest area to allow the belly to gain access to outside airflow (men only) and darting out to cross the street just as a speeding car (that will not stop) approaches.

I´m on a strict diet of baleadas, fried chicken, fruit juices and chillied fruits and veggies in a plastic bag. I hope to regain my adonis-like physique over the next month. Ah, the fried chicken. I cant overtstate the delight it gives me to bite into a large, beautiful fried chicken breast... At times i wonder why i bother eating anything else.

Its late Sunday and La Esperanza looks like a war zone. The streets are littered with dozens of bolos (drunks). This makes Iraq look like Disneyland. It is a site to behold. Honestly, it's really sad and pathetic but I´d never pass up the opportunity for the money shot. So Ive been wandering around and photographing the local riffraff.

Many of you from Peace Corps will be happy to know that Trini´s Guaro Pit is back in action and bigger and better than ever. I shared a few laughs with Trini and Ana over salva vida and taquitos... It´s weird wandering the streets and having people recognize you even 10 years after leaving Peace Corps.

Anyway, I feel bad but I´ve decided not to venture down the frontera to Concepcion, my Peace Corps site. Just not feeling it.

I did just contact Alma, my friend with no legs, and proposed an idea: return to Tegus, rent a pickup for a few days and get her outta her cave and take her to her hometown of Las Animas, Cedros in the departmentof Francisco Morazan. Its about a 2 hour drive from Tegus.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb