Change of Plans!


Advertisement
Published: September 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

PotholePotholePothole

Don't hit this with your car - you will fip!
How quickly plans can change when you have no itinerary. This afternoon we met two canadians on their way to the Bay Islands (Roatan & Utila). They informed us that if we left tomorrow morning at 5am we could be on the islands around 5pm. For some reason we never looked into it - just figuring that the trip was much longer than that. So - tomorrow we leave for Utila and I hope to get PADI certified to open water dive. It sounds like it is one of the cheapest places in the world to get certified, but also has good diving and high quality instructors. Amy is still undecided about getting certified - she will decide when she learns more at the island. Getting certified is usually four days as I understand and an extra three to get an advanced certificate.

Today was a lazy day around Copan Ruinas - we spent some time in the shops and getting to know the town. I'm pretty sure we were up and down the main streets at least two times per street, some were three times. We found some food at a local market for lunch; crackers, cream cheese, jam,
EarringsEarringsEarrings

Amy's new earrings and some lunch (cucumbers with lime and chile).
and wine. On the way back from the market we also picked up some cucumbers soaked in chili and lime with a little salt and pepper (about $0.75) - they were delicious! Amy picked up some earings made of feathers for a few dollars and they are shown in the picture with the cucumbers below. Our breakfast was at the B'alam cafe - I highly recommend. The food was the best breakfast we have had in Copan and the servings were generous. I picked up some Honduran hand rolled cigars to try - I'm not a cigar expert - but it was fun to enjoy some of the local traditions. I've seen a few locals smoking cigars in the town square.

A few interesting thoughts about Copan Ruinas and Honduras in general:
1) Although cobble streets are wonderful and idyllic for walking and looking at they are not so great for riding in vehicles. Today I saw a pot hole that they apparently tried to fill in with a twig/branch from a tree. I'm pretty sure if it was hit at 65mph in the states the car would have flipped over - maybe even 25mph would have caused some
Lunch!Lunch!Lunch!

Our lunch....wine, crackers, cream cheese, blackberry jam, cookies
serious damage.
2) I'm not sure if electricians exist in Honduras - but if they did - WOW would they have a tough job. See the picture attached.
3) It is warm and humid here. I'm not sure if it is the elevation (closer to sea level compared to Guatemala) or what, but Honduras has been much warmer than Guatemala. On the plus side they nights do seem to cool down a bit.
4) If you are looking for mustard...it is not in the yellow bottle. Kethcup is red like the States, Yellow is Mayonnaise, and Green is Mustard.
5) Eat street food...tonight I had 2 tacos for L20 ($1). I could put whatever I wanted on the tacos. I got 4 handmade tortillas with meat on two of them (they double up the tortillas). I put pico de gallo on it with guacamole and it was delicious! Seems like the street vendors come out around 5 and that is where all of the locals eat. Around 7pm it is hopping on the main street.

Off to Utila we go!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Electrician?Electrician?
Electrician?

I wouldn't want to be one!
CigarsCigars
Cigars

Some local handmade cigars.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

$1 for all of this!
Mustard?Mustard?
Mustard?

Not in the yellow container...that is mayonnaise...try the green container.


23rd September 2011

You may have only paid $1, but your guts paid a bigger price I hear???
25th September 2011

Yes!
I had my first bout of TD, I\'m guessing from the food in Honduras. I would maybe cut back on the quantity, but still try it. So good!
26th September 2011
Electrician?

Electrician
The worst I ever saw was in Phuket, Thailand if you are making it there on your adventure - Say hi to Amy for me!

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb