an oasis in Copan


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

On my continuous walks in and around Copan, there have been very few surprises.  Yet I came upon one monday in a place that is called a "recreation area" for locals and tourists.  While Copan itself is very nice, this few acres on the outskirts of town is magnificent.  It is called the "Camina Maya"  and it is a combination bar, restaurant, discoteque (is this the only place left in the world that calls a dance club a "discoteque"?), swimming pool and garden.  One is able to just come in and sit and enjoy without paying anything.  The location makes it more breezy and cooler than the rest of town.  One can swim all day for thirty lempiras (a little more than a dollar and a half).  That's not what really interests me, though.  Cuba Libres are 20 lempiras (about a buck)!!  Oh my God!  I think this must be heaven!  Anyway, I recommend this place to all visitors to Copan.
One side note:  In most places the service is not very good.  Except for maybe the most upscale places, you have to ask to get anything.  They won't offer new drinks when you are empty.
My spanish is coming along slowly.  I have been told by multiple sources that Honduran spanish is possibly the most difficult to understand....just my luck!  I came here not knowing more than a few words but now I have a whole plethora of verbs (los verbos!!!!!) that I can impress my friends with when I get home.  I can even make sentences in my head and speak them in ......a .....very .......slow .......and ........deliberate .........manner........ that frustrates the hell out of the locals.  That's ok though because I can't understand 99%!o(MISSING)f what they are saying.  Every now and then I can pluck a recognizable word out of a sentence and possibly understand what the conversation is about.  No chance to get the specifics.  But I have been assured by my teacher that I will improve gradually.  We'll see!
Visitors to Copan, especially those staying with a local family, can expect sporadic basic services at best.  During my nine days here so far I have been without electricity 4 times and seem to not have water every evening.  Don't know if the water problem is planned or just bad luck but the water has been back every morning (though not always hot). 
The rain continues to come every afternoon and again in the evening.  It is really a beautiful sight to watch the dark clouds envelope the nearby mountain ranges as the storm front moves toward town.  It always brings a refreshing change from the often oppressive morning heat.  I stupidly assumed that because of the altitude it would be relatively cool here......wrong!  My common sense didn't put together the fact that this location puts me closer to the equator AND closer to the sun.  Not a recipe for comfort.....but the nights are pretty nice. 
Most locals are very nice and respectful.  That is why it was such a surprise Sunday morning when a local man was throwing up all over the central plaza in town.  Not a pleasant way to start my day, but it was obviously worse for him.  My guess is way too much tequila the night before. 
One problem that I have encountered is the presence of dogs everywhere.  Don't get me wrong because I love dogs.  But these dogs have no owners and roam around the streets.  There is one near where I stay that barks continuously all night.  !!But lucky for me, I brought my earplugs!!    Horses are often used for transportation so it is wise to look down often when walking the streets, as you must be careful where you step. 
Still livin' and loving it here! 
Hope all is well with family and friends (and everybody else out there).
 peace, love and more love
Kevin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb