Leaving the Island, and on to Copan


Advertisement
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We had to leave the Island on Wednesday 15th, which was a great shame, would love to have spent more time here to hire a moped or a Jeep, and look around the Island.

I took a flight from the local airport, which was delayed by 3 hours due to a road strike in La Ceiba, which meant cancelling a load of flights. As we were just about to board the plane, to my horror, I realised my camera with all my pictures on it was not in my pocket. It wasn't anywhere, it had fallen out of my pocket in the taxi I took to get to the airport at 7am that morning. I was devasted, but could do nothing about it now. The flight was 35 minutes to the town of San Pedro, most of which I was angry about my camera. It was beautiful flying over Roatan though, and seeing the reef and the Island from the sky. Once landed in San Pedro, I took a bus journey to our next destination, Copan. By taking the Plane and bus, it saved 5 hours on the journey, if taking the bus from La Ceiba. I was devasted now about losing my camera, I phoned the hotel on the Island to see if it had been handed in by the driver of the taxi, but he had not seen it.

In Copan we stayed at La Brisas hostel which was comfortable. It was also the start of Carnaval here too ( almost every town we go to! ). The town seemed very pleasant and small. I had a nice meal and a walk around, watching the drum bands play to all the locals. But I couldn't stop thinking about my lost camera.

The next morning I walked 15 minutes to the Copan Ruins. The Ruins are on a big site, and are very impressive. One part is a stairway covered in hieroglyphics, I'm not sure but it could be the second biggest of its type in the world. The site dates back many years to, an impressive feat for this civilisation. At noon we left the hotel after watching another very lively carnival procession, and then took anoth private bus. This time we were to make another border crossing from Honduras, to Guatemala.

I phoned the hotel in Roatan one more time to see if anyone had found my camera, but no.... had so many amazing pics on it too. Gutted.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb