Sometimes the travel Gods smile


Advertisement
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

You've had to read enough horror stories about my transport throughout Central America. Today the travel Gods were smiling down on me. Today everything went right. Surprise! surprise!
I left my sweet hotel in San Salvador at 5:30 this morning for an 8:30 flight to Honduras. I was checked in and waiting at the gate by 7 A:M that may not sound like anything special, but trust me, it is. Anyone who has flown out of a South or Central American airport knows that when they tell you to be there 3 hours ahead of flight time, they aren't kidding. Even though it looks like there are more than enough agents to process a football stadium full of people, the lines still move agonizingly slow.
Not only did the flight leave on time but I had a whole row of 3 seats to myself. That is pure luxury.
Arriving in San Pedro Sula, Honduras I was standing almost at the end of the line for ' non-residents' when, like the parting of the red sea, a customs agent came and waved me over to a new line. Our Homeland Security doofuses could take a lesson from Honduras. They have a camera taking your picture as you are standing at the counter. And they take a fingerprint of both your index fingers. So much for our high tech superiority.
My next task was to try and find the 'Hedman Alas' bus to San Pedro and another to Copan. Last night when I looked at their schedule on line it seemed that I would be lucky to get the 10 a.m. bus from the airport but then Iwould have to wait till 2:30p.m. for a bus to Copan. Not only did I make the 10 a.m. bus, I was the only passenger. Talk about having a chauffer driven bus! And, here is the best part, the bus for Copan left at 10:40a.m. I got to the station and barely had time to use the baño and we were off. The bus was air conditioned, had a movie ( 'Runaway Jury'), served snacks and cold drinks( free!). My seatmate was named Enrique. We chatted and it turns out he knows my host family in Copan. Small world or rather Copan must be a small town. It was 'a comin' round the mountain ' ride but I fell asleep and woke up as Enrique welcomed me to Copan,
The B & B is lovely. Within minutes of my arrival the owner brought me some ice tea and a carafe of pure water. Later she called my host family and made arrangements for them to pick me up tomorrow. Check it out for yourself: wwwcasadecafecopan.com
After a late lunch in town, I went to the school and met all the teachers. I start on Monday. They told me they only have a few students this week so I will have private lessons. That can be both good and bad. Good because it will be on MY level of Spanish. Bad because it is hard to sustain 4 hours of conversation by myself.
I'm looking forward to being back in school as my Spanish has really taken a great leap forward. The 'dime has dropped' so to speak. I'm waiting for my first dream in Spanish. That is when I'll know it is really inside me.
Muchos abrazos,
Carolyn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb