2 more countries


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all

Well its only been a few days since my last update and heres what has happened

After I had done my tour around Los Angeles me and Flexi had a few hours to kill so we played some cards and then I headed down to the airport. I got to the airport about 4 hours before my flight which is not ideal especially at LA International where there is nothing to do. My flight left just before 2am and I slept for most of it.

Guatemala airport surprised me in that it was extremely modern, it looks like it can only be a year or two old and still seems to have large areas that are not used even though they have been completed. I got a shuttle to Antigua during which I saw more of the Guatemala that I was expecting and we travelled up through the hills and through a few towns. Antigua itself looks very much like a traditional Spainish town (or how I imagine a traditional Spanish town to look) with lots of orange and yellow buildings and cobbled streets and many old churchs. That afternoon I spent wondering around the town, I looked at a few of the churchs which were very impressive and then I got an early night as was still shattered from not getting much sleep the night before.

The next morning I slept late, got Lunch and then I was going on a hike up an active Volcano. It took about 2 hours to get to the start of the hike from Antigua. There was 12 of us on the hike and when we got to the base there was a lot of activity with people trying to sell us sticks and horse rides up the Volcano. We started the hike when we got told that our guide already had, and we met him about 10 minutes up the hill. The start was very steep but it soon smoothed out. It took about 90 minutes to reach us high as we were allowed to go (about 2300 metres, 1 1/2 miles) when we got onto the ash it started to get quite hot really and it was a bit unstable underfoot, we had to keep moving else our feet were getting too hot from the lava lower down and then we could see some of the freeflowing lava which looked quite cool. It took another 90 minutes to get down and then once I was back at the hotel I went to meet the tour guide for my trip through central america.

I was up at 5am for our bus down to Copan today. There is 15 people on our tour 8 of who started up in Mexico which makes it quite strange joining a group that already knows each other. We were on the bus till 11.30 crossing the border to Honduras only 10 minutes before we got to the hotel. Though the bus we were in did have a mechanical problem and I am amazed that it actually made it up some of the hills even if it was at about 10mph max.

This afternoon we went to see the Mayan ruins about 20 minute walk down the road. The ruins were quite good but did not seem to be anything amazing to me, however we did get Audreys guiding services, she is one of the girls on our tour and was telling us all about the statue of Dave the god of itchy feet amongst others which was quite entertaining.

Then I came to update my blog, got told as it was raining (it has been raining a lot) that the internet was not working so went and slept for a little bit, then came back

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb