Honduras Día 7


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The beach at TelaThe beach at TelaThe beach at Tela

Love the mountains in the background!
Since I was a little girl, I would travel often to the beach with my family. I most frequented the Jersey Shore, the Atlantic City area. As much as I love the beach, the ocean in those parts is often cloudy, dirty, not to mention COLD. So when I learned we would be spending our last full day in Honduras, I was psyched to get to go Tela, located on the Caribbean Sea. From past experiences, I recall the water in the Caribbean being much warmer, cleaner, and bluer. My only concern was the additional sunlight my body would be consuming, as I had already been burned enough this trip. But since I was so tired, when we arrived in Tela, I hung out in the shade with Marco, AnaLucia, and a few others for about an hour. Then I sprayed myself all over with sunscreen, and hit the water to join the rest of my friends.

6 hours, more sunscreen, a trip to the ATM, Chinese food for lunch, hair wraps, and a piña colada later, I looked like a lobster! I think I missed a spot on my leg. A spot the size of a small dog! Like Luna, I would say. My right knee and thigh got sooooooo burned that I am swollen! So are my ankles and feet, which I am hoping is just from the bug bites. NO, I am not pregnant if any of you had come to that conclusion. The water felt great, was clean and clear for the most part. While I did not take part in any of the rides on the banana boat or the high dive, I had so much fun anyway. Poor Hector, who does NOT like the beach, had to spend the whole day with us since his students had come to the beach as well. He had told me a few times that he is NOT a fan of the sand or salt water. So what does he wear to the beach? A black t-shirt, jeans, and loafers. Some of these Hondurans are loco!

I took a very refreshing shower when we got back to the lodge, and then ate some dinner with the rest of the group. Following dinner were some closing activities and announcements from Shin. Unfortunately I did not win the beautiful painting by Julio Cesar. But I did, however, get to purchase and plant a mango tree that will be named after me! The boys in the Children’s Home are learning some gardening skills so this was offered to the volunteers to help fund the Home as well as give the boys some extra practice in taking care of the trees. One of my favorite kiddos from this trip, Kevin, helped my plant it in the garden. We watched another video Shin had put together for the One Cup of Coffee campaign, from which all money goes to the Children’s Home, Right now there is only a home for boys, but they are looking to raise $50,000 more to fund the home for girls. These kids are all from the state-run orphanages or the streets of Honduras. The campaign allows for automatic debit donations of $4.00 / month, or the cost of one cup of coffee. $4.00 a cup? From Starbucks maybe. I will be signing uo to contribute monthly when I return to the states, and I hoping those of you who read my blog will consider doing this as well. It is a super-easy way to help the children and the organization. You can visit www.onecupofcoffee.org.

Our final night in Villa Soleada with the children and their families was topped off with a bonfire and marshmallow roasting! The kids had so much fun, as they took turns crouching over the fire to melt their marshmallows, lined up for a “photo shoot” that I was elected to run, and singing as Yedgin played guitar. I bought a few last things that the kids were selling, and then just hung out with the kiddos. David sat on my lap and told me all of the words and phrases he had learned in English. He also counted to 40 in English, and then to 100 with my help. We practiced a little more his new favorite catch phrase, “See you later, alligator.” I stayed up pretty late, since it is our last night. Poor India had to go to bed early as she has booked a 6am flight and was leaving at 4:30am. Being that we leave tomorrow, I am starting to get a little sad thinking about how much I will miss these kids, and the families in Villa Soleada. I am definitely looking forward to air conditioning, showering without flip-flops, brushing my teeth with tap water, and of course
La LichaLa LichaLa Licha

A woman came onto our bus to sell us bags of Lichas. Deliciosa!
seeing my puppy. Oh yeah, and my understanding and loving husband. 😉

My next and probably last entry will be written from the States. Watch out New Jersey, here I come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



9th July 2012

your trip
So glad you enjoyed your newest experience to further your education and language skills. You must be a wonderful teacher offering your knowledge and love to those you meet. Lookimg forward to hearing more when you come to Margate. Xo Judy and Rich

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb