Day 3


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cement the Honduran wayCement the Honduran wayCement the Honduran way

Yeah! We finally had a mixer, but loading buckets of cement up to the roof of any bulding is no walk in the park.
Today we woke up at 7 am and the guys were all gone working. We quickly got up and went to work too. Our job today was to put a concrete roof on the office of the church building. At first we had to mix the concrete by hand. At 10 or 10:30 we got a mixer. Then things moved a lot faster. We worked through the hottest part of the day. We all got burned and very tired. This morning we got to drive a car. Stephanie went first. It was a truck with a clutch. She kept killing it because she said there was something wrong with it. Cameron and I don’t believe her. She kept driving in circles. Karla thought she didn’t know how to stop. Everyone was staring at us. Later on, Cameron and I got to drive. We drove a van with the most sensitive breaks ever. More than once we almost sent each other through the windshield (scary - definitely scary). We had red snapper for lunch - all of us except for Cameron. She had fried chicken. Stephanie had a hard time eating hers because they left the heads on so it was staring
RestRestRest

Each afternoon about 1 or 2 pm we would eat lunch and drop for a couple of hours.
at her. She put her napkin over its face and she was able to eat. Tonight we visited an Afro-Honduran village. Javier insisted there was nothing to be afraid of, but the crowed, wild, environment made us uneasy. We paid a group of tribal dancers to put on a show for us. They did an African dance (called a Punta) and chant. It was interesting. They talked some of us into dancing with them. That was the most entertaining part. After that we went to a smoothie shop again. We’re all very tired tonight. Tomorrow we will worship


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SiestaSiesta
Siesta

The guys worked so hard. They took a well-earned nap each day.
My lunch is staring at me!!!!My lunch is staring at me!!!!
My lunch is staring at me!!!!

Here's our lovely lunch - head and all!
FrightningFrightning
Frightning

This is the dark alleyway we were lead down to see the dancers. I was sure we were going to be robbed or killed while we were away! God is good - he cared for us.
Dance baby!Dance baby!
Dance baby!

I must have crazy writen all over my face. I always seem to get singled out for doing the things I know I'll wish I hadn't done later.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb