La Ceiba Baby


Advertisement
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In hot La Ceiba, for the week-long Feria de San Isidro festival that attracts around 200,000 people!!!! Yeah! The finale of our great Honduran adventure culminates in the most popular festival/party in Central America.

La Ceiba got it’s name rather simply, one of the first inhabitants built his house next to a large ceiba tree and he was a popular amigo, so everyone would go to his place to hang out and the name La Ceiba stuck.

I’ve got one word for you. Bananas. For those of you who got my The Graduate reference, bless you. Yes, bananas are huge to La Ceiba and are its main source of income thanks to Standard Fruits aka Dole (you may have heard of them). Also, Salva Vida (Life Saver), one of Honduras’ most popular beers (and proud sponsor of Marathon. Go Marathon!), began in La Ceiba as well. So if you want fruit and beer, you know where to go.

We checked in at this great place called the Omega Jungle Lodge which is run by a German couple who were extremely nice, and the accommodations are lodges in the forest, which rock. The view is just green foilage (due to the constant humidity), the bugs are huge and numerous, and the sounds of birds chirping dance outside your window. But back to the bugs, because they are so large, they deserve more than one sentence of mention. In fact, the bugs deserve three sentences, okay, I’m done. At night, the sounds of insects chirping is almost deafening and keeps you up until you get used to it, and then you cannot sleep without those insects going off (okay, I’m really done). The shower is built into the stone and when showering, I felt like I was part of some Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue because in every swimsuit issue, there’s always one of the girls taking a shower in some exotic outdoorsy shower type thing. The Bugs were huge! (now I’m really really done). Waking up to this view makes you want to pinch yourself to make sure that you haven’t died and gone to the Garden of Eden.

The cool folks from New York that we met in Copan were at the Omega Lodge as well and I finally got the names of the last two cool folks from New York. Amy and Todd. We decided to head to the festival together to save money on the car ride and of course experience the wonder that is the Feria De San Isidro Festival.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



6th January 2009

shouting through the windows
Hey Eric, I was reading through your blogs.. great stuff, thanks for sending me the link. Angela (my wife) and I were just talking about the night that we were yelling movie plots to each other through the screens of our windows at the Omega lodge. Good Memories, I'm glad you two made it back safe and sound. One day I'll have to tell you about our adventures coming back from Roatan.
15th January 2009

S I Have no Bananas
I will never look at my SI Swimsuit Issue the same again. I enjoyed reading your blog - sorry I didn't comment sooner. Congrats on a great trip!
1st March 2009

Movie plots
I remember that! Wow, if we were in Hollywood, we would have made our movie and probably would have won best picture at the Oscars this year. Would love to hear about the rest of your trip as well someday. Take care and hope all is well with you guys. You're in Arizona, right? Eric

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb