Honduras!


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I arrived in Honduras! I started off in Colonial Santa Rita which is a little outskirt of Zarabanda which is outside Tegucigalpa. The weather was so unbelievably cooler than in D.R. and so much more foresty than I would have thought. There were pine trees and mountains basically all around us. I was living with a really great family for a couple of days but now I´m in Talanga. I´m in the same Department of Francisco Morazan that I was in, but maybe about 30 minutes away from Zarabanda. It´s hotter here and a little bit more rural, but still not that bad temperature wise.

SO now we´ve all started Field Based Training. The three groups have split up so instead of being a group of 50, we´re a group of 16 Youth Development volunteers while the Municipal Development and Protected Area Management volunteers went off to their own locations. We´re living with families again, and our houses here are actually a lot nicer than they were in Zarabanda...and nicer than any homestay I´ve ever had...with the exception of Zone 10 of Guatemala City.

We´re doing really intense language and work training sessions here, but since I´m in the advanced level, I´m also doing community projects for the six weeks I´m here. So the project I´ve signed up for with a friend of mine has been to teach kids about the environmental consequences of throwing trash in the streets and alternatives burning trash and what sort of health risks those create. It´s a lot of work to do in six weeks on top of all our other work, but that´s part of what I´ll be doing for work starting September 26th.

So I´m here until the 15th of September when I´ll go back to Zarabanda with the same family.

Hope everybody is doing well and congrats to the newest Mr. and Mrs. Kelly! the pictures of the wedding look amazing. Also happy birthday wishes to Uncle Tom, Ryan, and Molly I think too.

-Joseph

Advertisement



4th August 2009

Nice work, Joseph!
Joseph teaching about trash - awesome! :) Let me know if you ever want me to point you to some fun online resources to teach about composting and other things - it just might translate perfectly. Keep the updates coming - we're all excited to hear about what you're up to! Much love!
4th August 2009

hola
glad to see that you found an internet cafe. I think your projects sound great, and it sounds like you'll have a great training period. All things here are good - some sun on Cape Cod!! Red Sox seem to be on an uptick - 4 big games with the Yankees later this week. Talk to you later
5th August 2009

Thank God
Gracias de Dios (???) you've arrived safely! Not sure if I said that correctly Joe...my high school Spanish is more than a little rusty!!) I need to go to Roche Bros to practice! So glad you are getting settled and maybe it's good you're moving around a bit and seeing, learning and training in different areas. Hard to believe people do not understand about burning trash and basic health. I am back home and going to work for 3 days and then returning to Cape. Summer is flying by Joe! Janet and Chris are coming this weekend with 4 friends....pray for sun! We miss you so much! We miss your smiling face and your place at the dinner table awaits! Love and prayers. Mrs. G.
5th August 2009

miss you!
Great to hear from you Joseph! Glad you are finally there. We are thinking of you!
5th August 2009

Hola
Joseph, I am so thrilled that your devoted and loving mother (she made me say that) let me know about your blog. You are an amazing young man who is making a real difference in the world by sharing your gifts and compassion. I look forward to following your journey.
5th August 2009

Good Luck!!!
Dear Joseph, Your update sounds interesting and exciting! Good luck with all your new efforts and adventures and continue to "blog on!" I loved each of your shout outs, but please remember Uncle John Karuch who is recovering from recent serious cardiac surgery and give him a mention too. Life on the Cape is good and we are enjoying a Tierney/Loop vacation holiday. They are wonderful as always - we are much blessed to have such dear, loving and caring family and friends - both near and far (Zone 10 :-> ) They are all our treasure and our joy!!! And you are too! :-) I miss you like crazy and keep you in my heart every minute. Please be safe, stay healthy and enjoy this terrific experience. My thanks to the lovely family who has kindly taken you in and I look forward to your next message. Much love, Mom XXXXX OOOOO
6th August 2009

Hi Joe! I'm so happy to read that you're doing well - I'm disappointed we didn't see you before you left but am relieved you arrived safely and are enjoying the experience. Looking forward to your next update, enjoy!!
20th August 2009

Love reading your blog
Dear Joseph, Reading your blog is great fun and very interesting. You have a wonderful style of including lots of info and a couple of good chuckles. All seems to be going pretty well and I hope that's still the case. Your language proficiency alone will always be a terrific asset, and your unique experiences will help to continue your formation as a person. But you are already a pretty neat human being, so always remember to stay true to your core values and core. While I could go on and ON - I will stop there! :-> All is well here and summer continues to fly by. The weather is muggy, the Red Sox are struggling, but life on the Cape is simply lovely! People kindly ask for Joseph updates and (more kindly) listen to my chatter. We miss you madly but are very proud of all your hard work. I'll look forward to your next blog. Have fun, stay healthy and know I hold you in my heart. Much love, Mom xxxxx ooooo

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb