There is no middle class, and other things I've learned so far


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
September 27th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

LychueLychueLychue

A crazy looking fruit grown in Honduras, very popular with locals and gringos alike
Dia de los Ninos....
So it has been a while, way too long I should say, as childs day was nearly a month and a half ago now. 7th-11th grade celebrates childs day by visiting different "poor schools" and bringing pinatas, candy and food and playing games with the kids of these schools. I went with the 7th grade to a pre-school just outside of Comayagua. My kids had several games prepared and led the pre-schoolers in all of them. While this was going on Mercedes, my co-teacher, took me outside to show me three men standing next to three giant SUVs, those, she said, were the bodyguards of one of our students. THE BODYGUARDS!!! She went on to explain to me that the cement factory and the string of big rigs we passed on the way to the school were owned by this students' father.
Here we were at a "poor school" as our kids described it, and it was, it was a one room school with no desks and more than 30 students with only one teacher, while just outside THREE bodyguards guarded a student of mine! It reminded me of the only fight Fred and I ever had.
Chris openning the LychueChris openning the LychueChris openning the Lychue

This is how you open it
While discussing the effects of my moving to Comayagua and teaching "rich kids" a debate erupted into whether I would be doing more harm than good.... I did not want to think about this, I had already made my decision, my ticket was purchased, my bags were packed. Did it really matter the effect I would have? It is easy enough to be selfish about these things... I am here mostly to travel, teaching is the way I make money to do this. But is it foolish to think that I will have no impact, or that I will? These kids I teach have seen teachers come and go, they have the money to not think of this as a luxury but rather a requierment.
I spent the rest of child's day trying not to let the my kids see my tears. Unsucessfully though, as I found out later through an essay a fellow teacher had the kids write about the day, serveral mentioned that Ms. Kari cried. I was teaching the wrong kids! These pre-schoolers who are saving the food we had prepared to take back to their families are the kids who need my help. Not the kids
LychueLychueLychue

This is what you eat. The very oddly textured white part, which still has a pit inside of it... basically you just suck and kinda chew on the white part till all the juice is gone
who have bodyguards protecting them.
I'm not sure if Fred or I ever came to any conclusions, I'm not sure still what I really think. I'm not entirely sure that I am doing any harm, perhaps now I am only aware that I could be doing much, much more.

Sorry, again that it has been so long, I am working on it. I love to hear from you all, so please, leave messages here, they are great to read! Also, I have my cell phone working now, the number:504 327 3928! Take care


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kari, Sarah and JulieKari, Sarah and Julie
Kari, Sarah and Julie

We got way caught in the rain on the way to a party, and for whatever reason refused to take a cab. We showed up soaking and Mr. Brian lent us all his shirts, they were all the same, just different shades...
Mr. BrianMr. Brian
Mr. Brian

Getting his grove on


9th October 2006

No umbrella
I thought Kevin was the only one who refuses to use an umbrella. It's not like it rains every day in Central America or something. Keep the blog entries coming Kari, it's great keeping up with you in your travels. -Dave
9th October 2006

hey, kari!
First of all, I have to say that I LOVE LYCHUES. I ate them often in Thailand (though I am sure they were called something else) and it makes me jelous to see that you are enjoying them now and I am not :). Most importantly, I want to say that the work you are doing is so great and continually amazing for you, I am sure. Good for you for "going for it" and experiencing your life to the fullest by living a new life, new culture, new world! I look forward to reading your updates...take care and love to all the children you are working with. I will be thinking of you all!
10th October 2006

The weird fruit
Hey Kari - Nice add, however I think that fruit that I am featured eating is spelled LYCHEE. Just gotta take my pot shots on the Spelling teacher.
10th October 2006

I must have been drunk to criticize a teacher. Education is a good thing. Maybe you can teach the rich kids to help the poor kids. Your compassion inspires me. -Fred
10th October 2006

I'll have you know..
Readers... Mr. Chris was the one I asked about how to spell this special little fruit, was he trying to make me misspell it?? Hummm, though I, as well as many other friends, find it quite funny that I teach spelling, ironic really.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb