Getting Ready to Desfilar


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
September 11th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Escuela! Bilingue! Honduras!!!Escuela! Bilingue! Honduras!!!Escuela! Bilingue! Honduras!!!

Miss Jenna, Miss Sarah, and the Ponponara Squad. C-U-T-E!!
Today was our only day of school this week. Tomorrow there is no school because we will be marching in the parade and Wednesday-Friday there will be no school due to the national holiday. I 've found a one day school week to be relatively pointless but we had fun playing games and catching up on homework and all that jazz.

I had a student bring me a CD he made today. I don't know what to make of it. He may be trying to tell me I have bad taste in music. During quiet work time, I always put on music and if the noise level is above the music then work time is done. However, I don't think this music would be appropriate for work time as it is mostly reggaeton (spanish hip hop, i.e. break it down like a raccoon). However, being that he goes to a bilingual school, he did appropriately add some rap in English including 50 cent and Lil Kim. Aaah, they make me laugh.

After school, we had a great ponponara practice and I know that the girls will do wonderful at the parade. My favorite moment from practice today was when
Drummers from 5ADrummers from 5ADrummers from 5A

Oh they are so cute!! Look at those sharp outfits. Unfortunately, they practiced all week with their pencils during class time :)
one of the girls asked, "Mees, the boys from secundaria (high school), they march behind us, maybe we can shake our umm ?" So funny. All of the girls were in agreement, so I think they will be shaking thier "umm" for 2 counts of 8 during one of the songs. Well, really, who am I kidding? They shake there bums for all the counts of 8 for every song, just a little more during that part 😊

After practice, Sarah and I headed over to the mall to pick up shirts to match the ponponaras for the parade tomorrow. We have no desire to wear our hideous uniforms to the parade. Plus, we figure after all that work, we'll probably get away with it.

The Next Day....

Bright and early its time for the parade. We have to be there at the start of the parade at 6:45 a.m. Of course the parade probably won't start for two more hours but it gives us plenty of time to take pictures 😊 Of which we take full advantage. As do all the parents flashing pictures from every direction. (This is the first parade that EBH has marched in for several years.)

The parade, once it starts, is about an hour and a half long. In the hot morning sun, it seems like much longer. The ponponaras looked spectacular even though it was a struggle to get them to remember to smile. Who would really want to smile dancing in the sun in 90 degree weather anyway though? And not only did we think they were great, we received so many compliments on how awesome they did from all the people we knew along the parade route. Alrighty, enough about the adorable little cheerleaders. The band also rocked (two of my 5th graders played the drums) and my class looked great marching 😊

After the parade, its time to rush home to get ready for the carribean island of Utila. We have to make the bus that leaves in an hour and a half. Oh, I forgot to mention the last minute decision for me to go to the carribean for 6 days during our vacation from school. Best decision since deciding to come to Honduras! Check back for pictures of the vacation coming soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Here We GoHere We Go
Here We Go

Cheerleaders from a nearby school were looking on in awe at this point :p
The Last BlockThe Last Block
The Last Block

This was the girls dancing in front of the main plaza in front of everyone including the mayor!
The CoachesThe Coaches
The Coaches

Miss Sarah and I
Leading the TroopsLeading the Troops
Leading the Troops

Actually, we just walked. The girls did great on their own.


20th September 2006

smiles
Where did the time go..I still remember you and Elizabeth trying to twirl your batons as little tykes!! Then the pompoms in middle school and then the flags. Those young ladies are lucky you had so much practice early in life. I still haven't seen a picture of you'all in you uniforms. If you look as sharp as the kids, I don't see what the problem is. Have a good week! Leinnee has been great according to dad. Wait until you hear about Leinnee's adventures at Grampa's. Love you sweetie! Mom
20th September 2006

Yay Us!
They are SOOO cute I know. I had such a great time. I'm sure they had a blast as well. It was definately worth the 5 days of intense practice!

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb