Fam in Honduras - Day 7 & 8 - Tegus


Advertisement
Published: March 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the Back of a TruckIn the Back of a TruckIn the Back of a Truck

On the way to Tegus in the back of a pick-up for about an hour and a half.
Sunday, March 4, 2007

We woke up, dressed, walked to my house and got all of our stuff together. I had to make a few phone calls but I finally found someone to drive us to Tegus. Cesar from La Paz picked us up in his truck. Mom and Dad sat with him in the Cab of the truck, while Cesar's friend Rocky, Ginny, and I sat in the back of the pick-up truck. Mom was nervous about this, however this is a pretty standard mode of transportation for Hondurans.

The ride was about an hour and a half. Cesar was apparently making good conversation with Mom and Dad the whole ride. I was trying my hardest to have random Spanish conversation with Rocky and translate for Ginny.

We must have looked SO funny pulling up to this nice hotel in the back of a pick-up with locals. So classy. I thanked Cesar so much for driving us, gave him some money, said goodbye and then we checked into the hotel. SO beautiful. I felt like I had stepped out of Honduras and was at some fancy hotel in some tropical paradise.

The hotel was beautiful.
Gin in the TruckGin in the TruckGin in the Truck

On the road again...
Our rooms were amazing. Ginny and I shared a King-sized bed. Awesome view from our room too... over the pool.

We got into our bathing suits and then spent the afternoon down by the pool. So nice. The pool was slightly too warm though. Felt kind of like someone else's bath. lol. Still a nice afternoon with the fam by the pool.

Later that afternoon we did a bit of shopping at the mall, came back to our hotel rooms to shower and watch a bit of TV (yes I had ANOTHER bath, and watched SATELITE TV!) then head back to the mall (which is literally across the street from the hotel) and went to TGIFridays for dinner.

Dinner was awesome too. We got some BIG daquiris and had wonderful meals. Ginny and I both ordered ribs. It'd been awhile for me. There was so much food. We all went back to the hotel VERY full. I had another bath and then went to bed in the VERY comfy beds.

The next morning we woke up, had a lovely buffet breakfast at the hotel, I bought some cool art in the gift shop to send home
Fire in TegusFire in TegusFire in Tegus

We drove past a huge field fire in the mountains that showed no sign of anyone fixing the problem.
with the fam, and then we caught the hotel shuttle to the airport.

At the airport, we checked their bags and then some time to wander around and look in the shops. Mom and Dad bought some really cool Lencan art (they're a native group of Honduras), Ginny and I bought matching bracellets, and Mom and I bought matching earrings.

When it was time to say goodbye, it was quite sad but not as hard as when I left Canada. At that time I had NO idea what I was getting myself into. At least this time I AND my family knew exactly what I would be returning too. Plus more than half my time in Honduras was done. Only 4.5 months and I'd be returning home.

We said our goodbyes and then I caught a bus back to Comayagua. It would be back to work for me the next day... was interested to find out how my students had been while I was gone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Hotel LobbyHotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby

Felt, for a moment, like I was no longer in Honduras.
Our Pretty RoomOur Pretty Room
Our Pretty Room

I felt SOOOOOO spoiled being in this room :)
View From Our RoomView From Our Room
View From Our Room

:) Lovely, busy city of Tegus... majorly lacking in urban planning.
Pool During DayPool During Day
Pool During Day

Such an amazing pool
Pool at NightPool at Night
Pool at Night

Beautiful at night too!
Back of the Hotel Back of the Hotel
Back of the Hotel

View of the hotel from the pool area.
Sitting By the PoolSitting By the Pool
Sitting By the Pool

Lovely afternoon by the pool.
Big Girl DrinksBig Girl Drinks
Big Girl Drinks

Gin and I sipping our Daquiris at TGIFridays.
AwwwAwww
Awww

Mom and Dad sharing my Daquiri


Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb