Life of a Teacher...


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
October 19th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've already made the realization that being a teacher in Honduras is MUCH different than being a teacher at home, but something really hit me hard yesterday.

One of my favourite students (the little pirate from a picture I posted way back) has been acting up a lot in class lately. He talks all the time when I am talking, and is often out of his seat and interupting class. Two days ago he ended up on the "red light" of my discipline stoplight, so a letter was sent home (one that Mr. Chris so nicely wrote up for me in Spanish, so that all I have to do is circle the problem the child was having in class).

Well, yesterday the student comes up to me and is laughing, telling me something in Spanish and pointing to his belt. I tell him to tell me in english and he says his Dad hit him with the belt. I asked why and he said "because of the letter." He was smiling the whole time and it didn't seem to bother him. I was bothered though. I asked Chris what can be done about something like this down here. If it were in Canada, I'd be legally obliged to tell administration. Here, this is not the case. I'm told this is normal. This is okay and there's not much we can do about it. I don't even know if this boy was telling me the truth, or just wanted me to not send any more ketters home, but whatever the case is, I think I will just try to deal with his discipline as much as I can at school and keep it within the school.

It makes me really sad...

On a MUCH happier note, I recieved a comment from Carol on my blog not too long ago. Carol was my host teacher for the second half of teacher's college. I worked with her and her grade one class at a school in Mississauga. This was a note that Carol posted to me:

"I saw our friend Davis today - Anne Young and I went to visit him at his new school. He remembered us and kept giving us hugs and kisses - and he asked "where Mis Lillet?", so of course he remembers you and misses you too! He's doing so well in his new class - he's in a class of 10 kids and has a full-time TA one-on-one for the whole day. It was really great to see him happy and doing well - I really wish you could have seen him. And he gave us his traditional pinkie kiss good bye. It was priceless and heartwarming. I'll have to go back to visit him again before I go on leave! I just thought you might like to hear how he's doing...oh, and Ewan, still the same. :o) And all the girls (Milica, Ayan, Syndney, etc) keep asking how you are doing - so I've been giving them the updates too (well, the censored versions. LOL!) they said to say hi and they are planning on making cards for you - I'll send them when they're finished! Talk to you again soon!!"

I cried. I miss those kids so much and it warmed my heart to hear that they ask about me. And Davis... oh Davis. Many of you will remember my MANY stories of the cuteness, terror, innocence, trouble, beauty, and humor that is Davis. He's a 6 year old boy with the mentality of about a 3 year old. I had a special little bond with him and miss him terribly.

Carol's note brought me so much inspiration. It's amazing to think of the effects that you have on children, as a teacher. When you think about it, in terms of hours, I see these children for as many hours in the day as their parents do, if not more. As a teacher, I try not to only teach the subject but to teach discipline, respect, responsibility, honour, equality, and so much more.

Thank you Carol for your message. It's made me realise the power of teachers and the fact that if I could leave an impression on someone like Davis in 5 months, think about what I am able to do with a classroom of 20 grade 3s in 10 months! I need to give these kids something special. They are so used to sitting in their desks, doing worksheets from workbooks, reading out of a textbook, and being evaluated through only written tests. I need to stop being lazy and doing what's easiest. I need to create even more in my classroom.

Today I had my students push all their desks to the sides of the room, lie on the floor, close their eyes, and lead them on a visualization journey. Many enjoyed it. Many were silly. It was something out of the norm, so it surprised them. They're not used to things like this. I know it's not much but it's a start right?

Advertisement



20th October 2006

AN APPLE FOR THE TEACHER
Hurray for host teacher Carol. You've touched a young teacher the same way she has touched her students. Thank you. It's so refreshing to see that caring and learning can be so contagious, and passed along. That in and of itself must be the great reward. Beautiful to bear witness to. Many thanks. Sarah's dad XXX OOO.
20th October 2006

WOW ...so true!
Hi Sarah, Been a while since I posted but I thought I needed to today! Your message really hit me. It is true that we have to teach the kids so much more but there are not a lot of things that can give (in terms of time and things) but it is important that we do it! I am sad to hear your story about the little boy with the belt but I am sure you will do what is right... you have the nack. Thanks for your inspirational message... you make me step back and think ... Thank you for that! Take care and keep smiling, Nicole
20th October 2006

hey you.
miss youa nd your crazy ways. i have been reading i swear and i love every minute of it. looks like im off to uganda may/june before camp. sooo excited. esp after reading your journal about fun happening of travelling. scuba diving. oh my. that was such an exciting series of blogs, im extremely happy that youre enjoying yourself and challenging yourself so much. i know as a camper how much of an inspiration you were and continued to be as the assistant counciller coordinater (when i wasnt sleeping....haha) and im just very pleased you can spread your sunshine to children in uganda and even your cooworkers there. keep up the good work and watch out in the mail for something special from me. lovelovelove andrea.
20th October 2006

Teary eyed
Wow - your blog today Sarah and all of the responses to it have brought tears to my eyes tonight. I am so proud of you and what you are doing and what you are giving to these children. You have obviously chosen the right career for yourself. And thank you Carol and the rest of you that have been such an inspiration to Sarah and supporting of her. Love you and miss you Boo! Love Mom
20th October 2006

Hey Sarah, That's such a sweet story your old Ht sent you, I so remeber you talking about him. Teaching here is somewhat different then there but the responsibility and rewards are the same. We do make a difference, even though some days it may be VERY small especially in Kindergarten lol. I am sure you are doing a fabulous job and making your students lives better just by being there with them everyday. I am TIRED but lovin teaching too!!! I miss you and am glad you are having such a great experience. We are getting a TLK eveninig together soon, so we sill toast you and I will send you the pics. Take care.
20th October 2006

Inspiration
Sarah, I read your blog faithfully following your escapades. It is a valuable and memorable lesson to learn how much one person can do to touch a life. Hearing about the exciting encounters that you have had so far have only made me that much more excited about my adventure to Camp Sizanani in South Africa as a volunteer nurse at the AIDS/HIV life skills program. Luv Cheryl

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb