Gettin ready


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow the High School students of El Alba will be taking a two day field-trip to Honduras' capital city, Tegucigalpa. We will visit a museum in Tegus' and then drive to Valle de Angeles to stay at our hotel. From what I hear Valle de Angeles is a historic town about 20 minutes from Tegus'. I have mixed emotions about the trip, seeing as how I am the only teacher attending. Other than myself, the trip will be chaperoned by only the administration. Our two principles, our pregnant disciplinarian and our secretary will be on the list of those attending. So I will be the token white teacher for the bilingual school.

Being the only teacher is fine with me, but the potential problem is the students. Our kids are always finding out how much they can get away with. I have already had students ask me how much I will "let them" get away with. They told me that every year the administration sends the students to their rooms at 8:00 and then falls asleep, leaving the teachers to run security. This means it might be my job. I am perfectly fine with running security on a hotel full of teenagers away from their parental units. I'm still young enough so that I can remember all the tricks kids use to sneak around. I remember my senior trip and I'm pretty sure its always the same, no matter where you go.

When the kids found out I was going they all began to prod at me. They wanted to know "what kind of teacher i was going to be." I told them that I would do my job. If I was told to keep them in their rooms then I would keep everybody in their rooms and if I was told to babysit them by the pool then I would read a book next to the pool. This answer didn't seem to satisfy them. They wanted to give me every sort of "what if" question they could think of. I even had two students tell me exactly what they were going to do and then ask me if I would allow it. They even drew a blueprint of the hotel.

It should be an interesting event.

After the field-trip I will meet up with Karina back in the city and we will do some shopping for the wedding. I plan on staying in Tegus on Saturday night as well so that means sleeping at Toño and Carlo's place. They are my two Honduran Uncles and they make cheese. Toño and Carlos are two brothers who live in the same house with their wives and kids. Together they have five kids, four parrots, three dogs, two wives and one huge flat screen TV. The flat screen belongs to a cousin and they don't have the proper cables to hook it up, so it just blesses the living room with its presence. Its interesting to see it in their house because it is bigger than the coffee table it sits next to and when they want to watch TV they plug in a really small television, no bigger than a toaster oven. Its funny to see the family all crowd around this tiny TV while there is a giant brand new flat screen sitting right next to it.

I plan on bringing the camera to take photos of the field trip and giant television. I will also eat food at one point and then blog about it when I get back. You people love it when I talk about food.

Advertisement



6th March 2009

The Chaperone
Who am I? "Character" is defined by what I do when I think nobody is looking. "Personality" (from 'persona' meaning "mask" -- as in theatrical mask) is the counterfeit of character. I am what I seek. Have my desires committed identity theft by running off with my character? Will a mask cover the crime? ¿Que va? ¡El Señor is The Chaperone! (And He never blinks.) ~eric.
6th March 2009

Chaperoner
Yeah - It should be interesting. I won't give any of my secret weapons away, because some of my students read these blogs, but I have a few things in mind. Sometimes teachers scheme just as much as the students.
6th March 2009

volunteer?? chaperone........
How many students will go on the field trip; and I forgot to ask - did you actually volunteer for this job? I would think they would want at least another teacher - like possibly a female - for the girls. It's hard to imagine how you are going to "police" everyone all night long by yourself. I guess you won't get any sleep. I've done some over-nights with jr./sr. high school kids.....but never was I the only adult in charge all night.......YIKES!!!!!!!!! (I, at least, hope you get paid for the extra hours). The follow-up travel blog should be a good one!!
8th March 2009

A veteran
I will send you some tips via email since your "kids" read these blogs. I'll just hint by saying plastic wrap......

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb