Enjoying It


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The past few weeks I have simply been enjoying IT. My classes are going well and when they don't go so well, the stress doesn't follow me home. Other than the hot weather everything is going really great. Karina and I are still chugging away at our wedding plans and she has been on the ball. Speaking of chugging, I have really gotten into milk. It's pretty awesome.

Karina organized and ordered all the invites and I was able to get some musicians interested in playing at the reception. I'm pretty excited about the whole thing, it will be interesting. My family will be mixing with Karina's for the first time in the history of the universe.

The two families are similar in so many ways, it will be fun to see how the languages come to a conversational compromise. No one in my family has ever been to Honduras and no one in Karina's family has ever married a Gringo. Whenever I think about the Holmes, Reyes, Irvine, Gonzalez mixer I smile, because I know it will be a new experience for everybody involved. I have also seen how Hondurans party... its sweetness. They love to express themselves by singing and playing loud music. I'm lucky because Karina's family has a super good sense of humor, so our two families should mix well. Above all else, Karina's family is loud. Aww yeah.

Other than scheming on the wedding I have been cleaning and cooking in hopes I can adapt to my new surroundings once absorbed into the life of Holy matrimony. I feel like a tadpole sprouting up little legs, but instead of sitting in the mud all day soaking up the sun... I am bleaching the fridge. Cleaning never takes too long, because my apartment is only two rooms and a bathroom. So in about one hour I can organize, clean and sanitize... It's a good thing.

Almost as good as my triple cheese stuffed peppers. After cooking nothing but beans and tortillas for a month my kitchen is experiencing a culinary Renaissance. Its not that I couldn't afford juicier food before now, because I could have bought steak or chicken or any other perfectly normal beast. I just like beans inside of tortillas, is that so wrong? I guess I started cooking with more variety for the same reason I shave my head from time to time... and that is no reason at all. Regardless of my motive I have made it a point to cook up some pretty mean chili and I also whipped up a nice guacamole on Friday for the San Jose game.

I watch the Sabres games on the internet, and at first it was just something special. Now it has turned into an absolute necessity. I am flooded with a culture new and different every waking hour of every day. That is fine, but it just so happens that this culture loves soccer. Since soccer is a game for weak little sissies I need to get my hockey fix. It's always nice to have something from home when your living in Central America.

As far as the classes go... well, its the same old story. We are studying poetry in all my English classes and they seem to really be enjoying it. I even give them a chance to share their own work on Friday. Usually they share song lyrics by the Jonas Brothers, but that's ok. The point of "Poet's perch" is to share what inspires you. I even had one student dance the macerena. He did it a few times and then had everybody stand up and do it as a class. It was good times.







Advertisement



17th February 2009

AWWWW...
Clint have fun with whole getting married thing. I miss ya buddy. Make sure to tell your faience all about me.
17th February 2009

Que Bueno
Sounds like you're doing great Clint, keep up the good work and the blog. I like your attitude on the Jonas brothers "poetry." It's not that I'm much of a Jonas Brothers fan, it's just that I think it's good to keep an open mind.
18th February 2009

Los hermanos Jonas
Yeah, the Jonas bros have some decent lyrics. They are all about girls, but there seems to be some Christian undertones. It could just be me searching for some deeper meaning, but I like to think they write their own stuff. I haven't heard their music yet, and I'll probably keep it that way.
28th February 2009

Wonderful Adventure
Clint - I love your adventurous spirit! That was something I enjoyed most about going to NOLA (which I am STILL convinced IS another country) - learning about that diverse culture, food. God gave us such a diverse world to love and explore. I love to hear your adventures - you are quite the writer. I'm still hoping to make it to the wedding. BTW...how's the scrabble games going with the students? Can they play it?

Tot: 1.25s; Tpl: 0.247s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.4815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 10; ; mem: 1.1mb