Miss Super Stickers!


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So far, I am having an awesome week. One of the best weeks since I arrived here. School has been great all week and the kids have been amazing also. Although, it is crazy right now because we are doing half partials, in other words getting our half term report cards ready for Friday. So everyone is busy gathering grades and they are quite busily going at their calculators these days, including me. I was rather nervous because I was wondering what the kids grades would look like compared to their last term and actually I am quite impressed. I know it's hard when your teacher leaves midway through the year and then you get a new teacher with a new way of doing of things. But luckily the students grades have gone up. Which makes me smile. Except for one of course. There's always one. I though his grades had always been lower, but no. Apparently, it's something about me and the way I am doing things. I really can't figure it out. they are down by about 20 percent each grade and I can't see why. Everyone's grades actually went up, which must mean I am doing something right...maybe just not for him. I am expecting a call from his parents by Monday or Tuesday asking why their child's grades have completely taken a nose dive and I am hoping I can come up with some sort of explanation for when that time comes. I just feel really bad about it all.

Yesterday I was bored and watching some t.v. and what I saw will be forever burned into my memory. I happened to pass by the Honduran 6 o'clock news. A mistake I will try not to make again. On the screen was this dead body, covered in blood and there were flies buzzing around it. How absolutely horrifying. My first thought was oh my god there's a dead body plainly displayed on t.v. at 6 in the evening. The next thought was, this person has a family. Why do they have to show such gruesome images on the news? Who actually wants to sit and watch the news and see mutilated bodies without arms, legs, covered in blood? It sure isn't me and I am sure their family doesn't want that image in their minds either. I just don't get why they would do that. I have seen it in the newspaper everyday here, but for some reason, seeing that so early in the evening and in what seemed like high definition...was just a littl etoo much for me.

Today was a great day at school. The kids have had exams all week and still have one more tomorrow, but they are doing really well. After recess this morning, I walked into class and I swear I was attacked by a swarm of children. At the end, I was covered by probably 70 stickers. Not small stickers of course, we all know I can't find those here. No, these were pretty big stickers. I had them on my top all the way to my knees. The kids thought it was great and called me Miss Stickers and Super Stickers all day. They thought it was absolutely hilarious when I pretended to have a cape and put my arms out like Superman, whenever they said Super Stickers!! Of course, they told me I had to wear them all day. So from 9:30 am until 2:30 I was covered in stickers, glitter and stamps. The other teachers laughed at me whenever I walked into the Teacher's Lounge. It was so much fun though and everyone really got a kick out of it, including me. I feel very at home with the grade 1 class. You can always have a blast with the kids, playing with dirt, stickers, stamps and just joking around with them. I can't ever see myself wanting to teach an older class, I think I would want to bust out the construction paper and call it a day.

On my way home from work today, I was walking down the main boulevard and someone sang to me. Sorry, make that he rapped to me, possibly at me. From behind me I could hear "I like big butts and I cannot lie." I actually stopped and turned around to see who it was because I thought it was hilarious that someone was singing that to me. He just smiled and did the whole Latin kissy kissy noises and then when I turned around to keep walking he went right back on rapping again. I was laughing for a couple blocks while he's singing away, but then it kind of got old so I stopped into a cafe and let him keep on going. Once I knew he would be way ahead of me I started to walk again. Within a few minutes I had to stop again. On the corner of the street were two dogs just going at it. What's even better is right in front of the dogs, were two kids sitting on the curb on the corner. It didn't phase them at all apparently. Then, one block from my house I saw a taxi driver getting it on in his cab with some girl. I think I am just going to stay in for the rest of the night, I do not want to see any more lol. Miss Super Stickers has had enough for one day :D

Now back to my report cards...dun dunna nah!

Advertisement



6th February 2009

Well sounds like you had a very interesting day. Kids using you as a piece of paper for stickers of all kinds. I can just see you flouncing around the school with all those stickers jammed on you. Too funny. Thought I would piss my pants when I read about the rapper following you. Did it weird you out more then you let on? Seems to me that it should have weirded you out more. I LIKE BIG BUTTS AND I CANNOT LIE you should have asked him where he saw a big butt. Not from you that is sure! The news part was gruesome so thanks for the info. TMI!!!! Not liking that part of the blog but you include everything which is awesome. Good luck with the grading and report cards. YOU ROCK JANET!!!!
7th February 2009

itty bitty waist and a round thing in my face!
Well this is quite the blog!Dead bodies on display,kissy kissy man rapping big butts,dogs humping on the street and one cab driver getting his fare one way or another!Gotta love Honduras!!!Sounds like a place your mother and I would love!;)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb