There's a what in the classroom???


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was quite the day. Honduras was really challenging me today, let me tell ya. In the middle of science class one of my students, Ailynn, comes up to me and says Meez...I don't like those things. I am standing there trying to figure out exactly what thing she is talking about. So again she says Meez, I don't like those things, I very afraid of them. I ask her exactly what thing is she talking about. She points underneath her desk and says cockroach. I nearly screamed. Instead, I just stood there staring at this thing crawling along the floor. This was in no way anything close to any sort of roach I have ever seen. This was a roach on steroids. It looked to be the size of a mouse.

I had no idea if it could fly, so immediately I left the classroom and just stared in through the mesh and kept telling the kids to step on it! Kill it! I realized that me being out of the class was creating a lot of screaming and running, so I bravely went back in and stood on my desk. Half of the class was standing on their chairs as I am yelling at the boy sin the class to kill it. After 5 minutes of screaming and running, and me being on top of my desk...Elmer finally killed it. But that still wasn't the end of the cockroach! I then had to deal with the huge body parts that seemed to be lingering. Of course, boys being boys, they thought it was hilarious to pick up the legs and try to throw them on the girls. So now the girls are screaming, the boys are laughing and I am still standing on my desk trying to remember why I came to a country that has roaches the size of small animals. Of course, after the whole roach ordeal, the kids seemed to be wired for the rest of the day.

During one of my breaks, a parent came in to speak with me. This was my first one on one meeting about a student and of course his Mother doesn't speak any English. I found a translator to help and it went very well for a surprise meeting. She has concerns about her son and his progress in the language, just as I do. I am so glad she stopped by to talk though, it really helped to clear things up. Apparently the teacher that I replaced, gave him a very hard time and it ended up really taking a toll on him. When I first arrived, he wouldn't answer any questions and he looked like he was going to cry. I really think in the last two weeks he has started to come out of his shell and bond with me. He is such a special kid and I hate to think that because his past teacher didn't like him or wasn't patient enough with him, that he had to suffer for it. It has definitely put him far behind the other kids, but I am working on something for him to do at home. That way he can start from the beginning again and learn the basics first and hopefully he will catch up with the rest of the class. Until then, him and I will continue to do the robot dance at recess because that always seems to make his day.

I had my first Spanish class today and it seemed to go well. My teacher is amazing, I adore her. She is one of those people that right away when you meet them, you just know they have a pure soul. She is a teacher at my school, so luckily I get to ask her random questions anytime I want.

Now, this will shock my friends and family! I was walking home from school today and I saw a hornet coming right towards me. I didn't stop in the middle of the road, I did not scream, run or run over anyone! It landed right on my shirt, on my stomach and I still didn't freak. Instead, I calmly stopped and flicked my shirt and it flew away without any problems. I really think that the roach incident from earlier in the day, screwed me up completely. I actually had a hornet on me and I didn't scream. I was so impressed with myself! I am not quite sure if it was the roach, or the kids telling me that on the first day of school, there was a tarantula in the class. Either way, I realize I can take on bees, hornets and wasps now because I have seen the biggest roach in the world lol.

I am just so glad that tomorrow is Friday! I am going to a party on Saturday night, but I am thinking that I may just stay in and relax on Friday. I don't know, it always seems to be what I think I want to do until someone breaks out the beer and says let's go to the bar. As for Sunday, Annie is making crepes and everyone is coming over...I believe crepes may be the starter for margaritas though, so I am not quite sure how relaxing Sunday will be. But, at least it will be fun!



Advertisement



23rd January 2009

LMAO
As I am reading this I am laughing hysterically. Meez please help me with the cockroach. The what? There goes Janet out the door letting the 1st graders deal with it. Too funny. You are going to be so used to the bugs after living there I guess. Then you made the comment about the hornet landing on you and you not freakig out and I am wondering is this our Janet? Smiling like a lunatic writing this as I can so see you standing on your desk telling the poor kids to kill their pet. No not funny at all just joking but it made for good reading. Once again you made me laugh. Enjoy your weekend by the sounds of it its going to be one hangover after another.....and by the sounds of Sunday you will be hungover for Monday. So much for that no drinking on a school night!
24th January 2009

O yes...it was probably hilarious for anyone walking by to see me standing on my desk freaking out and screaming lol. It was quite the Honduran/Gringa moment for me :D
27th January 2009

LMAO!
YES! Janet, you finally overcame your fear of bees. I'm so proud of you but hey, I'm right there with you on the cockroach. As I was reading all I kept picturing was when we were in Cambridge and it was attack of the spiders and bees lol. "get it off me!!!" (I still want to see that video) However I have one question, a tarantula in the classroom? I'd be on the first plane home. lol. If or when you do come back please leave your pets in Honduras lol.

Tot: 1.686s; Tpl: 0.144s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.4477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb