It went from great to very sad


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The day started off great, especially for a Monday. I had my class do a reading competition and I told them I would give the winners a prize. As it turned out, they pretty much all managed to find the answers to the questions at about the same time. So luckily, I had bought enough for everyone and then some. You'd think I had just given them the best gift ever...it was lollipops lol. I have a whole bunch of Canadian pins to give them too, but I am waiting for a really good competition for those ones. The day went so smooth and it turned out to be the best Monday I think I could ever hope for. Tuesdays and Wednesdays on the other hand are not my favourite days, so tomorrow should be fun.

I was on the hunt for those damn stickers again today, to no avail. I think I am just gonna have to suck it up and put stamps on their papers instead. Tina, I know you said you would send some, that could take three months by regular mail and 3 weeks by air mail. I will get you the address though. While you are it, if you see any books at the dollar store can you grab those too. I teach at a a private school, which would normally make you think they have most things available. They don't. My class has two books and that's it. My entire class loves reading and I think it's because reading a real book is such a treat for them. We do have a library which has some books but only one copy of a book and the rule is that you have to get the book photocopied (sssh) and then send a note home with the kids asking for 100 lempira for the copy of the book. I am sure it'll work just fine, but sometimes it's nice to read a real book. I did go looking for some books for my kids this past weekend, but there are definitely none around. I did see one book for kids, but it would have been about 20 dollars US. That's just too much for the time being.

So Charles came over tonight so that I could braid his hair. He has a lady here in town that does it in half n hour...which I is crazy. It took me an hour and a half. Then again, I put swirls in it and some other stuff. Annie came over, Katie came home and then Peter showed up too so it ended up being a full house here tonight.

The saddest thing happened tonight though. While I was doing Charles' hair, we were all sitting in the living room talking. We heard this car go rushing by our house and then what sounded like a pretty big accident outside. It sounded like two cars smashing into each other. Then we heard all kinds of commotion outside so of course we went out to see what was going on. I just remember looking down and seeing a bike and a truck about 20 feet ahead. My heart just sank. It wasn't two cars crashing. An SUV was going obviously way too fast and hit a neighbourhood boy. His name is Mario and he's about 12 years old. The bike was just laying there and the handlebars were across the street. There was a crowd of like 50 people around him. I didn't go over to see him because I knew that was an image I didn't want burned into my brain. After about 10-15mins of people standing around and dogs barking and people screaming, I saw them pick him up and put him into the back of the SUV.

I haven't heard yet if he is okay or not. I really hope that he is. But, from what I could see and what I was told, I don't think he is going to be okay. I think the biggest shock of all wasn't that he had been hit, it was that after standing around for 10mins, they just put him in the back of the truck and left...for the hospital I assume. No Police...no nothing. It is just so different than what I am used to seeing. In fact, i have yet to see one Police Officer since arriving here.

So, that was my night. I have Mario and his family in my thoughts and I really hope that he pulls through.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb