Last Entry From Honduras


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I leave in a half hour for the airport. I can't believe it's that time already.

Friday night was awesome. Walter's friend Douglas came over to Walt's apartment, we shared some drinks then went to Morgan's bar. I saw Kenny and a bunch of Walter's other friends. Kenny told me he was sad to be losing me. He said that he was sad he didn't have a wonderful woman in his life. I told him he'd find one. He said he wished to find one just like me. So sweet.

Saturday I spent most of the day at Walt's. In the evening we went out to Salsa House... a new bar that opened last week, right next door to Morgan's. All Walt's friends were there. It was a difficult evening. Many tears... taking turns being the one to console the other.

This morning was the inevitable goodbye with Walter. Hardest one. Goodbyes are difficult... even tougher when you're not sure that you'll ever see the person again.

Finding it hard to believe that a year has come and gone so fast. I still remember the day I arrived.

This year has been a year of growth and change for me. I've experienced things I never expected too and learned more about myself than I ever knew possible. I've gained independence that I didn't know I was capable of. I've faced challenges that have made me stronger. I've faced fears and done things that I never thought I could do.

I am so grateful for my time in Honduras. It has definitely been a life changing experience.

I hope that upon my return to Canada, I can look at those around me who seem spoiled and selfish, and not spite them, but instead simply feel truly grateful for my eye-opening experience and for what I have been given in my life.

I think I'm finally ready to head home. It's taken me all week but I'm ready to be back in the Country that I love. I'm ready to hug those whom I haven't seen in a year. I'm ready to take on new challenges and new experiences.

Thanks Honduras. It's been a hoot.

Advertisement



15th July 2007

Sarah..your last entry brought tears to my eyes. I know that you have changed my life in many small ways, just by the privilege of sharing in your experiences through your blog entries. You are truly a gifted and talented young woman. I know that life will bring you much success and happiness...simply because you appreciate life for all the right reasons. Thanks for letting me into your world over the past year. I am truly grateful. All the best to you....
16th July 2007

It's time to return!!
Hey Sarah, I am so proud of all of the things you have accomplished this year and so happy that you brought us along for the ride. What an adventure you had, it will be so fun for you to read back over all the enteries you made and reflect on them. I know you are changed forever by your experiences over the last year, but everything happens for a reason and now you await your future to see what the next adventure will be. I can't wait to see you and hear all about it. Cheers and welcome home!!!
18th July 2007

Enjoyed your blog
I am a teacher in San Diego, CA and I am about to move to Tela, Honduras to teach for a year. I have been reading your blog for the last few months. I enjoyed reading about your experiences. I hope I have as great a time as you! Good luck on your future endeavors.
22nd July 2007

good to hear that you had a good time in honduras.. sounds like you learned a lot of life changing things.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb