For Netter


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mangos in MarchMangos in MarchMangos in March

This was what our mangos looked like in March. This was taken from my bedroom window.
Netter,

I have decided to post you some beautiful pics of the mango tree in my backyard. We have an over-abundance of mangos.



I hate to say Netter, more of them rot than we eat. There are just too many. And to be honest, I'm not really a fan of mangoes.

I also am slightly scared to go out in the backyard, as I have almost been killed by fruiting twice. No, seriously... they have missed my head by about a foot.

They also wake me up when they fall, dropping onto the tin roof over our washing machine. That's scary. Big booms.

Someone is going to get hurt one of these days. Actually, Chris was lying in his hammock and did have one drop on his chest, leaving a fairly significant bruise apparently. lol.

Enjoy the pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mangos in MayMangos in May
Mangos in May

This was what our mangos looked like in May. Another taken (by Alisa) from my bedroom window.
Artsy MangosArtsy Mangos
Artsy Mangos

Alisa took this one with a special colour filter on her camera. Fun huh?
My RoomMy Room
My Room

My bedroom window (pink house), the mango tree, and the tin roof over the washing machine where the mangoes drop, sound like a gunshot, and wake me up!
The Death TrapThe Death Trap
The Death Trap

Mangoes just waiting to fall on the heads of innocent passer-byers.
Our HouseOur House
Our House

Check out the many mangoes scattered all over the ground. Just too many to eat!
The Mango GraveyardThe Mango Graveyard
The Mango Graveyard

They rot. They smell. We throw them here, where they all go to die. Get within a few feet of this and the smell is lovely ;)
A GiftA Gift
A Gift

One of my students gave me this very large mango at school yesterday, as though I need more mangos. I put it next to a can and lighter so you can get some perspective on just how large this one is!


20th May 2007

woot woot for mangoes! i would be willing to endure the daily risk of my life for the joy of fresh mangoes growing in my backyard. it may be impossible to eat them all, but i would do my best. take one for the team, you know? death by a fruiting . . . so poetic.

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb