Day 5: Leaving the Island, Returning Home


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
September 17th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DockDockDock

Yes, that is a man with a Macaw (spelling) on his shoulder, selling muffins and coffee on his bike
Sunday morning was a nice and early rise in order to get down to the dock to catch the first Ferry. We checked in at the ticket booth and then were herded like cows to the dock. We saw this man with a Macaw on his shoulder selling coffee and muffins. So funny. The picture of him was actually taken by Chris when he left Saturday morning but we saw him Sunday morning as well.

I guess a lot of people leave Sunday morning because we didn't get the little boat back that we came on. We had this HUGE boat with two floors and were in a huge crowd of people waiting to get on. People kept budding (or is it butting?) in line, so Kari, Jeff, and I moved up a bit. This one crazy old woman with a stroller (no baby in it) kept ramming the stroller into the heels of the people in front of her. First it was me, then this other woman, then Kari. All of us told her to stop and gave her bad looks. I think she was literally crazy. She didn't seem to understand.

We finally got on the boat,
View From the Boat on the Way HomeView From the Boat on the Way HomeView From the Boat on the Way Home

So much water to see and yet the Mountains line the coastline. Oh man... more than words
got a seat up top, and were on our way back to La Ceiba. The ferry took more than an hour this time since it was a bigger boat. We were all SO tired. Most of us slept on the ferry but I had a hard time finding a comfortable position. I just sat and enjoyed the view of the water and mountains.

The bus ride home was ok. Jenna and I got these seats though, that had NO leg room so it was really squishy. Nadia was nice enough to trade with me for one of the legs of the trip though, which was nice. We stopped at a few places for bathroom breaks and lunch. We finally made it back in Comayagua around 4:30pm I think. It was a long day of travel but I spent A LOT of that time on the bus sleeping, which made it go faster.

I came home with every intention of unpacking and cleaning my room somewhat. That didn't happen. I spent the day catching up on my e-mails. I think we may even have thrown in a game of Catan too. I felt like I needed an extra day to recouperate from my vacation. Sad I know. But the next day it would be back to the daily grind.

I couldn't stop thinking about the trip. I told my Mom to send me a scuba magazine in the mail so I could start searching for my next destination.

Coming home, I had all these intentions of unpacking and cleaning my room. That didn't really happen though. I spent the rest of the day catching up on e-mails and chatting on msn. I think we may have thrown in a game of Catan as well but I can't remember now. I just kept thinking about the trip. I even asked my Mom to mail me a scuba diving magazine. I'm eager to check out where I should take another adventure. I'm thinking Australia would be great. I could teach there, and dive, AND hang out with Dana since she moves there in February. We'll see. This travel bug thing, it's really fantastic.

Advertisement



30th September 2006

:)
We could be diving buddies! Though I have yet to find a place that will advance certify a diabetic!!!!! Grr. It makes me excited that you are learning little tidbits about marine biology in Honduras! We just got our computer set up again after moving (such a demanding task in Baden! oy!) and I've been busy trying to catch up on all your blogs! You sound like you're having an awesome adventure (and I definitely hope your travel bug lasts long enough to come visit me in Australia). Miss ya and love ya lots! PS. A ltter is on the way...I swear!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb