Stranded on a Caribbean Key


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Where do I begin?? I have seen so much in the past week.... I don't have time to write much now, because I'm about to go out to Jewel Key, near Utila, one of the Bay Islands off of Honduras. I'll be out there for 4 days or so, with no access to internet... I'm going to get certified to scuba dive!! I can't wait. But before I go, I just wanted to send this to let everyone know I'm alive, and having an amazing time. Here a few highlights from the past week....

Tikal - in a word, incredible. Vast ruins from the mysterious Maya.. how can you go wrong? We climbed the ruins for sunset, sunrise and a couple other times in between. It's probably the hottest place on the planet, surrounded by thick jungles and no water, but it's beautiful. I couldn't help feeling nostalgic for a past, a world I never knew... it really is impressive.

Next stop was Rio Dulce, which is a great little town right on the river, near the Caribbean side of Guatemala. We spent one night at Hotel Backpacker, this awesome hostel, right on the water with huge decks and bars. We went swimming with the locals in the sweet river and basically just layed low. It was heaven.

From Rio Dulce, we took a boat to Livingston, which is only reachable by water. Livingston is this crazy laidback Caribbean town that feels much more like Jamaica or the Bahamas than Guatemala. The people and much of the culture is Garifuna, a funky mix between African, Guatemalan and the islands. It was awesome! We met some guys who took us out on their boat, for free even though they usually charge a ton... sometimes it pays to be 6 cute girls! They took us to Seven Altars, seven levels of rocks and pools set deep in the jungle. Gorgeous! I jumped off the rocks and into the pools... it was incredible. Next we swam in the Caribbean and hung out on the beach and then our new found friends took us for one last swim in the rio dulce, surrounded by more rocks and jungle. Not a bad way to spend my last day in Guat....

Yesterday, I made the twelve hour treck from Livingston, Guat. to La Ceiba, Honduras. It took me 4 or 5 buses, including one with falling roaches, a pickup truck across the border, two stops at immigration, a chaotic and lucky exchange of money and finally, I arrived! I spent last night in La Ceiba, took the first ferry this morning to Utila and now I'm about to leave for Jewel Key, to get certified by Captain Morgan's Dive Centre.... Wooo Hoooo!! Until I'm back from my deserted Caribbea Key... Love to all and a belated Happy Easter!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb