Utila


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

What an exhausting and fulfilling week! Let´s start off by saying that Utila is awesome! A little background first, Utila was discovered by Captain Morgan and is where he found Blackbeards treasure and it went on to become the biggest pirate colony in the world. Need I say more? Utila is basically a dive town, and Bryan did his advanced open water courses while there. I was 100% sure I was not going to dive because I was terrified, but every single person I met talked me into it and I decided to go for it. Utila is the cheapest place in the world to get certified so I figured I couldn´t pass up the opportunity. Not to mention we were staying at a dive center (cross creek) and I was the ONLY person there not diving. I cannot explain how happy I am that I got over my fear and just did it! Diving is the coolest thing I have ever done! I absolutely love it. I did my three days of PADI courses and then 2 fun dives. The underwater wildlife isn´t as abundant around Utila as it was when I snorkled around Caye Caulker, but just the experience of diving is awesome! So during the week while we were in Utila I basically just dove and relaxed. On Thursday we went with Nadine (our friend from Cross Creek, also my diving buddy) to the caves. So at the caves you have to crawl on your hands and knees for like 20 minutes through pitch dark caves to get to the swimming hole. Bryan went first and lit candles so we had a little bit of light, when we got to the end it opens up a bit and there is a small area to swim in, which is very dimly lit since we only had like 6 candles left. It was pretty scary but so awesome! Definitely one of the coolest things we have done in Central America.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb