Island Life


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Island Life



I think I have finally settled into Island life now which tends to be slower than I am use to but also somehow a lot busier. We start work at about 6:30/7:00 each day and finish about 4:00 most days with a couple of hours for lunch in the middle. We have two ladies who make lunch for everyone at the office as well as making our evening meals, lets just say that their culinary repertoire leaves a lot to be desired. Rice and beans for lunch most days and we consider ourselves lucky if we get any fruit or salad to accompany it. In the evenings they have an obsession with frying meat so we usually have fried chicken, pasta, rice and potatoes ... talk about carb overload!! But I do think myself lucky that I'm not a vegetarian because if you minus the fried meat the meal is even less appetising!!

I'm starting to recognise those people that are actually living here on the island from those that are passing through and I think that they are starting to see me that way too now, although I only have 2 weeks left ... I can't believe how quickly the time is going.

Earlier this week I actually got a chance to swim with the dolphins that we previously saw, not for very long as they are quite shy but for a little while which was amazing. We also found some rough tooth dolphins which are a lot larger than the spinners and they should be around for a while. No whale sharks yet though, in fact there havenĀ“t been any sightings since the end of March :o( But everyone keeps assuring me that they will be back soon.

It's not just the sea life that we seem to be seeing a lot of at the moment. At the beginning of the week I counted over 100 bites on my legs from sand flies, mozzies and fleas! Plus one of the staff houses has found four tarantulas this week! On the couch, in the kitchen, on their beds ... I am sooooo hoping that they don't find their way into our house!
We're going off to the bat caves on the other side of the Island later today to have an explore and then we have arranged a football match and a yoga class before going out this evening. Then tomorrow I am diving in the morning and then James and I are going to cook a proper Sunday Roast for everyone as the ladies have the day off.

So I'm really busy, extremely knackered and loving it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



16th April 2008

You cooked Sunday Lunch!
Did everyone survive your Sunday Lunch effort? Tell me James is a chef and all you did was peel some potatoes and veg :) Glad to hear you're having a great time see you on the 1st.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb