A week of work... if you can really call it that!


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greeting from Beautiful Utila!



I've now completed my first week of work at least "work" is the name we give it. Mainly we've been doing on the job training for everything we'll be doing in the coming weeks. We've learn't about the reef and Utila and their dependencies on the different eco-systems and how the work we will be doing will help to protect, grow and regenerate these. We've spent time in the Mangroves and Seagrass as well as at the reef. We've had to do coral and fish identification and learn about all the different cetacean (dolphins and whales) that Utila is home to. But the best thing this week has been going out on the boat and seeing the dolphins. Yesterday we found a pod of Spinner Dolphins, they are quite shy so we didn't want to risk scaring them off by getting in the water with them but they came and played in the wake of the boat, surfing along beside us whilst we collected the relevant information needed to chart their behavior and environment. I'm out on the cetacean boat tomorrow morning too so hopefully we'll see them again or maybe some bottle nose dolphins. Even better would be the whale sharks, pilot whales and even more impressive killer whales all of which are in the waters here. Think it may be asking a bit much to see them all before I leave though :o(

Life here on Utila moves at a pretty slow pace after work we tend to head back for dinner and then out for a few drinks (or 10). Anyone who has experienced my singing will be sorry to hear that I even gave my second only karaoke performance... don't ask me what it was I have no idea!! Luckily neither does anyone else that was there so it couldn't have been that bad ... could it??:o) Yesterday was my day off so I mainly chilled on the beach after dancing the night away on Friday ... it's far too hot to make dancing a good idea I assure you!! Today I had a couple of dives this morning just for fun.

I haven't had a chance to pull any pictures off of my camera yet but when I do I'll be sure to post them.

I just heard that it's snowing in good ol' blighty. Blimey I can't even imagine that right now!!

Hope everyone is doing well xxxx

PS Nan - I'm fine, don't worry :o)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb