Stuck on Utila


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
November 26th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Right, sorry about the late update, guys... Anyway, left the Big Apple for Central America... had a flight from JFK to San Pedro Sula in the middle of the night, so I spent the night at JFK... extremely uncomfortable... all the benches had armrests between the seats, so u couldn't lie down properly... Anyway, came to San Pedro Sula bright and early in the morning (San Pedro Sula is in Honduras in case you didn't know), managed to get a taxi to the bus station and order a ticket to La Ceiba... (Was extremely proud of myself since noone spoke English and my Spanish is a tad rusty (actually more or less non-existent)). Stayed the night in La Ceiba and got on the ferry to the promised land, Utila, the next morning. It was a relief to get to Utila and meet English speaking people... I could finally have a proper conversation...
I looked around the diveshops to find a nice place to do my Rescue course and my DM and ended up at UDC, Utila Dive Centre, the biggest and busiest dive shop on the island (and one of the busiest in the world). So I did my Rescue course and started my Divemaster training, meaning to finish the DM in about one month... two and a half weeks later I finished my DM and I had also been convinced to do my IDC to become an instructor (completely grasped by PADI). So I was a divemaster for about 45 minutes before I started my instructor training.... So, instead of spending 5-6 weeks on Utila and become a Divemaster, I am now an Instructor and I've been on the island for about 7 weeks and I intend to spend Xmas here as well, the reason being having a lot of friends here who are also spending the holidays here and the idea of spending Xmas alone on some random hostel is not tempting... In addition I will be able to get experience assisting on courses (also bringing in some money). So these days I divide my days between courses, fun diving and spending time either in the UDC bar or at Treetanic, Coco Locos or Tranquila (and the occational trip to bar in the bush...). Hope everyone is enojoying themselves wherever you are in the world.. oh, and as a final notice to everyone who is somewhere where it is raining, snowing, cold or d) all of the above: the temperature here is about 30 degrees, it's sunny and a bottle of beer or a rum and sprite is about 1.25 US dollar... cheers

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb