Well... it's definitely an adventure


Advertisement
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was my second day at the dive shop... yea!!! But first... last night

I went on a late afternoon dive, and by the time I got back to the shop all the other interns had gone home except for my roommate Nick who was out on a night dive. So I waited around for him so we could go home. A bunch of people were going out, and since I got home so way late I had already missed them. So I decided heck, I want to get out, I'll just go meet them. Well that was when I discovered I didnt know the way to the road. Walked in what turned out to be the right direction, but when I got near the harbor I thought I must be going the wrong way cause I dont remember the boats (of course by this point I'd only been on the road once in the daylight and that was at 7 am) so i turned around and started going the other way... into the extreme darkness. Thankfully I had my mp3 on me so there I am, in the middle of the Roatan wilderness, trying to light my way with my tiny mp3. Eventually I gave up and went back home. Which was good cause apparently minutes after I left, everyone had come home.

We had one customer today, so another intern, Jason, and I went out with Dennis (one of the instructors) and the customer to a place called Pepper Point. We all went down, and then Jason tried to fix my pressure gauge which was dragging. I had turned around to see what he was doing and then when I turned back I slammed my hand into the coral. So that ended our dive short cause it looked like I had this huge gash in my hand and I was starting to freak out.

Jason and I surface and get back in the boat and wait for Dennis and the customer. Well then, when they have finished their dive and we are all ready to go... the boat doesn't start. So I decide well heck with out, I'm gonna lay out and get some sun. We try calling for help, and waving for help, and finally get the other resort to say they will come get us. But then Dennis says to the guest "you want to do one more dive while we wait for the rescue?" Such good luck that Jason and I came up early, so they had one of our tanks and the spare tank. Of course moments after they go down, the boat comes to get us. The whole afternoon turned into a comedy of errors - Jason went down to go get them, but then never surfaced, so eventually the boat said we have to go and left.

It took us about an hour and a half before we got so desperate and broke the cover off the engine to try to manually start the boat. Meanwhile, our shop had finally sent out the other two interns on another boat to come save us, but they got lost themselves.

All in all... it was a fantastic day!

Advertisement



4th January 2009

Well...much better than DC. What did we do all this weekend? Oh get drunk....
5th January 2009

Wow, so much adventure for one day. Don't get lost at sea!
12th January 2009

tell us about the monkey

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb