Week one wrap-up


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I now present: the past week!

First, a brief insight into our daily lives....
wake up at 6:45, up by 6:50, throw on a bathing suit and some shorts and a tee, make my pb&j sandwich (the breakfast of champions), then the van comes to pick us up anytime after 7. Lately its been the bad van... the one where you can see the road through the floor, and you can't go over the speed bumps faster than 10mph cause it just might fall apart...
get to the dive shop and open up - that consists of opening the doors and finding out how many are going out on the morning dives, then bringing all the gear down to the boat. then we wait for our one or two customers to show up (its been slow this past week, last week we just had one guy Wes, but he was awesome, now we have two guys... and occasionally a couple if cruise shippers) so we all go diving with the one or two people we have. since its been slow, and the two guys we have now only want to do two morning dives, we've been getting out of there by 1:30... home by 2 its awesome. Usually a stop to feed Pancha the monkey, and a trip to the grocery store if someone needs to go. Of course it also gives us way too much time to drink. But such is the dive life, today was a late day with a stop to the grocery story and the pharmacy and we were home by quarter to 6. then the drinking starts, a late night is getting home around 11:30. Its kinda nice since everyone has to be up early again the next day, the nightlife gets started as soon as people close up shop.

The monkey: So we have a monkey, Pancha, who lives off our road in this little clearing, across from this beat-up old motel and the small bay. There's also some cats some stray some maybe not, that live around there, and come up for the feeding. We bring them our leftover lunch food (lucky them on a day when we dont know what lunch was!). Apparently there are two monkeys on the island, Pancha and Poncho, but i forget where the other one lives. Its chained up though, but our house did some covert ops right before I got here to lengthen the chain on the monkey, so she could have a larger area to run around in

Eldons: the grocery store we always hit up because its in between work and the house. The other day it was just Brian (one of the instructors) and I going home, and we made a quick stop. Well we had the bad van that day, and thankfully he mentioned to me dont leave anything valuable and i took my camera, but i left my ziploc bag with my bra and underwear on the floor under my towel, the food for pancha on the seat and Brian left his cigarettes. I was in for 5 minutes, and in that time they took my ziploc bag the food (the plates were foilcovered) and the cigs. My only consolation is imagining the look on their faces when they open the plates and find chicken bones and very little rice....

House drama: Well nobody much liked Nick, who was my roomate because he was leaving in a few days and i was like well if i room with you then ill have my own room in three days... smart. So everyone was very happy when he left, but i had no beef with him. however, right before he left, Friday night two of the guys come back late drunk, and decide to place all the empty beer bottles in front of our room door to piss him off. So the next morning I open the room door and im like oh ok, and step over the bottles. I go out and Adam (one of the guys) is like oh im sorry about the beer bottles Lisa, we were playing a joke on Nick, and Im like hey whatev... its kinda funny. The Nick comes out yelling about whoever did this better clean the bottles up now, and i unfortunately left the room at that point so i missed the whole thing... most of us did, but the story goes that adam pushed nick so then nick punched adam, and then adam pulled out his dive knife. well adam was then kicked out of the house and now is staying with one of the boat captains. And this is very bad story of Adam, because actually I have a blast whenever I go out with him and the others, and everyone was sad he had to leave the house

We got a new guy in the house, Blake. He's.... interesting. So Saturday we come home and the guy is running around the house in his black boxer briefs or something... and they are like kinda rolled down so its just not a pretty sight. and i just avoid being in the same room as him, thinking ok he was cleaning the kitchen... once hes done hell probably put clothes on.... well he doesnt..... so eventually he comes out to the porch and im like uhm Blake, could you please put some shorts on, im kinda uncomfortable with this, i mean we dont know each other this well. and he's like ok, and puts on shorts, but still has his butt crack showing... but im like whatever its better than the briefs... so i let it be

Sunday morning, we are all getting ready to go to work, and i threw on a pair of plaid shorts and a t-shirt over my bathing suit. i grabbed a pair of my normal shorts (short shorts, which i kinda wish I had worn the knee length shorts, or even my capris today cause its chilly) so then go the kitchen to make my pb&j sandwhich (my breakfast). and Blake is there and he says to me you know lisa i dont understand how you are comfortable wearing short shorts but you are uncomfortable with me wearing a speedo.... i just looked at him like are you f**king kidding me? so then i go to wash a knife and i turn to him and im like, im wearing clothes, im wearing a t-shirt, it's not like im some hoochie mama get up here .... one of the other guys popped around and was like its a respect thing man... so i go back to my sandwhich and im just like you have to be kidding me, and blake goes i dont get your explanation and so i turn to him and i say im wearing clothes, you were wearing your underwear with your ass hanging out, so then he says im gonna start walking around the house naked if the kitchen isnt spotless, so i turn to the other guy and (inside joke to us going back to the Adam story) say to him oh should i call patrick, and blakes like yeah call patrick... i just walked out of the kitchen with my sandwich.

He's since moved out, today actually, and once again we are all a whole lot happier!

Yesterday - got home by 2, went out with some of the people to one of the instructors houses, drunk by 4, walked over to the beach (across the road) went out on the pier to watch the sun set, decided we should all go swimming, so jumped off the pier, then went back and drank more.... home by 10:30 in bed by 11. diving is the best hangover cure in the world... you ever feel a little iffy just suck on some compressed air!

Oh and by the way, I'm a day away from being a rescue diver! If I had just badgered Brian more about taking the test yesterday, I would have finished today, when I did my last open water scenario, but now tomorrow I will take the test and be done!

Adios

Advertisement



18th January 2009

It may be the garden of paradise down there, but he ain't Adam and you aren't Eve, so put your clothes on dude!!
19th January 2009

Abba love the pics I want the monkey!!! Tried to text you I don't think it worked

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb