Visit to Haiti, April-May, 2013


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti
August 3rd 2013
Published: August 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It is a little strange to send this because it’s been several months since I began to write it, but it is what it is.







In April and May I was in Haiti where I spent time with family, particularly my mother, my son (who has been working there since last October, but had a busy schedule during my stay), my sister, nephew, and extended family.







The country amazes me. My last visit was December, 2011; there was energy and progress that continue. Some examples are solar powered street lights, roads better than ever, and population growth. In the past, countryside homes were made of thatched roofs and mud walls. This time I saw none. Same road, towns, and fields but now cinderblock structures. Even the crowded neighborhoods were beautiful.







We were able to spend time at the beach. Barack was not there, but we were swimming nearby.







I went to visit a number of schools, most notably Twa Ti Flè (3 Little Flowers http://3littleflowerscenter.org/). Some Floridians are helping support it. Rainy season had begun so mud would not allow the car to go all the way; I walked the last stretch, enjoying the lush countryside. I want to teach in Haiti and I’m waiting for the right situation to allow that. Maybe in another year. Patience is my byword.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb