In Preparation


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This past April, I took a little road trip to visit Pam Plasier in Sioux Falls, South Dakota to give her some supplies for her next trip to Haiti. It was a nice day so we decided to take a walk. As we were walking down the dirt country road, she said "Kirstin, Mike and I met with the Mission Haiti board and I have some news." "This doesn't sound good" I replied. She then proceeded to tell me that the Mission Haiti board has decided and now requires all long-term missionaries going to minister with Mission Haiti for 6 months or longer need to go through some kind of mission training. When I first heard this, I was extremely disapointed. I was planning on going to Haiti for a year starting in September 2009, so in a few months! I thought it was rediculous, but I had do go through training, I didn't have a choice. I didn't want to, but I had to. All I wanted to do was just go back to Haiti and minister! Is that to much to ask?!

Pam and I right away started looking at mission schools and trainings. We had both heard many great and wonderful things about Youth With A Mission. She also told me that Mission Haiti was partnering with YWAM's Minnesota base in Rockoford, MN in June to take a team from Linden, WA to Haiti. We thought and prayed about my going on the June trip and we totally felt at peace about it. It was a great trip to go on because Megan from YWAM MN was leading the trip so I could aske her about the Discipleship Training School that I was hoping to be accepted to. I downloaded the application for YWAM's DTS, sent it in and waited. As you know from my other blog posts, the trip in June went amazingly! God worked in So many ways as you can read on the other entries.

When I returned from the June Haiti trip, I had a letter in the mail from YWAM saying that I was accepted the Discipleship Training School! I was so excited! I now know that this was God's plan all along. As I think about going to Haiti more and more, if I went this fall without going to the DTS, I would have been so unprepared. I would have failed in ministering to the people there.

Here is what the five month DTS looks like. I will move into the base in Rockford, MN on Saturday, September 26th, 2009. The next day, Sunday, the 27th, all the sudents attending the Fall DTS will have dinner and get to know one another. I will be rooming with anywhere from 8-10 other women and I am so excited about it! I am so excited to be around people that are so centered on Christ and doing his work all the time! We will be in the "training phase" for three months learning about discipleship, interculteral relationships, and many other things. Then, we will go into a two month "outreach phase" where we will be doing intense work projects, Evangelism, and church ministry. The outreach country choices for this DTS are either the Amazon in Peru, or India. Each of us students will individually pray about which country God desires us to go to for those two months. We will leave for one of these countries on December 30th 2009.

I returned from the June trip on a Sunday. That following Wednesday, I went and toured the Rockford YWAM base. I totally felt like I belonged there! I then knew without a doubt that this is where Christ wants me! There was also so much joy on that campus and I could feel the Holy Spirit so strongly! If you would like to know more about YWAM MN, check out the website: www.ywam-mn.org.

After I graduate from the DTS in late February of 2010, I will take about three months to rest up and prepare for ministry in Haiti for one year. I plan to leave for the year of ministry in Haiti in May 2010. I do not know the exact date, but will keep everyone updated.

Another key thing now is support. Originally, I needed to raise $5,000 to live in Haiti for one year to do missions. Now with the training I am called to do with YWAM it is another $4,500. So now the total support goal is $9,500. That is alot of money to raise, especially in these times. But God is a God who provides and has already given me $3,000 through other brothers and sisters in Christ! I believe that I can raise the rest of the $6,500 that I need. Will you help? Here is the information on what to do if you would like to give whether it be monthly or a one time gift.

1. Make the check out to Mission Haiti.
2. Write Kirstin Miller in the “memo” part of the check.
3. Send the check to: Mission Haiti
PO Box 486
Tea, SD
57064

All gifts are tax-deductible and you will receive a receipt in the mail from Mission Haiti. You can make a monthly or one time donation. If you would like to give a monthly gift, please let me know how many months you would like to give so I can count that into my support. The total amount of months that I will be involved in training and missions is 17 months. So, if you would like to give monthly for the whole time I am involved with missions, that would be your total!

Also check out Mission Haiti's website: www.mission-haiti.org.

Prayer Requests:
1. Which country Christ is calling me to for the two month outreach phase, Amazon in Peru or India.
2. Build relationships with the other students and the staff while at DTS.
3. Support will continue to come in.

Remember to let me know if you have any questions or comments! Thank you all so much once again for your involvement on this great journey with me!


Advertisement



16th August 2009

Yay!
Love you KHB, and am proud of you. Know you are loved by the Father, and that I am praying for you. love, Mom

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb