May 27 - camp children


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

To continue the story of the camp. In partnership with World Concern, they are providing a safe area for the small children of the camp to participate in supervised play. In connection with the government, Concern is seeking to provide accreditation to teachers for school for these children. Schools in Haiti are self pay, so these children would not be able to participate in a regular school program. It is hoped in this way to bring these children up to standards and provide an opportunity they would not otherwise have for education.


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement

Camp - Concern for childrenCamp - Concern for children
Camp - Concern for children

Notice they are sequestered and supervised.


1st June 2010

May 27 with the pic of the sequestered children is the latest post I see from you. I've been sidetracked lately with an ill sister-in-law who my wife and I are health care proxy to. Caught up now. As I have said before, I don't see anything here that is surprising to me. It is much as I recall it in Viet Nam with a few changes. You have potable water being trucked in and you have your "villages" which is better than I saw over there. But again, we were at war, not offering refugee assistance. Although conditions are not the best and it's no four star hotel, I see that you managed a nice smile for the pic of you at the computer! The pic of the Soccer Stadium lights makes me wish I could be there to assist in their connection and help with operation of the generator. This would be right up my alley from my work in the Army back in 70-71. It seems that you are still in good spirits and you're getting the needed guidance from above. Keep up the good work and keep us posted. Hope all is well since you've not posted in several days. Take Care and God Bless Cuz

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb