Central America Tour


Advertisement
Guatemala's flag
Central America Caribbean » Guatemala
September 4th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I spent 5 weeks hiking around Mexico and Guatemala with a few friends from England. It was an amazing journey. We spent the first 5 days in Mexico before heading into Guatemala and staying with a family in Quetzaltenango to study Spanish. From here we did trips to volcanoes, Lake Atitlan and Antigua. After spending most of our trip near the pacific side we left for Guatemala City. Yuuk! Not a nice city, but we needed to stop for 2 nights because my buddy was having problems with his plumbing. (he needed a doctor). After the visit we headed for the Caribbean side of the island at Rio Dulce to do some hiking. This was great. We left one day to hike to some naturally heated waterfall, but on the way were some bandits waiting to hold us up. However, when we heard that we decided to hike up the river rather then the trail. We arrived to the water fall and found it so amazing. After an hour or so of lounging we made up stream and into the source of the river. We actually had to swim in a cave to see where the river began, but we came upon a waterfall (yes inside). We could not see the waterfall due to the dark cave but it was quite loud.
After that adventure we headed to the Jamaica style town of Livingstone where the Caribbean feel was in full motion. I did not like this town to much so I left the group early and headed for Tikal. However, I stopped and recharged at some Finca. Cant remember now, but it was great.
After re-juicing my battery I was off to Tikal. That was one of the most amazing places I have ever been. The only problem was I was there for only just a ½ day. The following day I was onto Mexico via a quick stop in Belize. After some border problems. I had to pay a little bit extra to leave the country due to my ignorance not having my passport stamped by Guatemala during my entry into the country.
However, I was in and was on my way to the beach to relax for 2 days before my flight home to Minneapolis.
This was defiantly one of the best trips I have ever taken. I am almost sure I will never experience such thrill, personal poverty and a sense of family like I had in Guatemala and Central America.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb