Parent´s Visit & Mi Cumple


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today I am sitting in the office overlooking Quetzaltenango and doing a little work. My parents just returned home from visiting me which was a really good time. They came down on Thurs. July 27th and stayed in Antigua Guatemala then met me on Friday in Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. From there we went to San Marcos La Laguna to stay at Hotel Jinava, a relaxing hotel with great views and its own little beach and dock. On Saturday we went to Pana and walked around the market and had lunch, then returning for relaxation in Hotel Jinava for the evening.

I brought them to Xela the next day and attempted to show them around and later we went to Sabor de la India that night with Graham. I had to work on Monday but Tuesday I had my day off so we got to hang out some then. I decided to take them to Zunil which is a trip I do with the school (so check out my other blogs for info on Zunil). Then I took them to Aguas Amargas to soak our bones and we got there in the back of a pick-up (Mom, actually handled
Another ViewAnother ViewAnother View

Our hotel in San Marcos La Laguna on Lake Atitlan
it really well - did she like it?). Then that night I took them out to dinner at Royal Paris to meet Kriss. It was fun and I almost felt like I was working cause I was translating alot. The next day I had to work Mom and Dad came with me on the activity. We chicken bused our way to Salcajá, a town about 25 minutes from here. We went to see the oldest Catholic church in the Central America (wouldn´t that mean all the Americas - except Caribe?), then we saw the sewing process that goes into the indigenous skirt designs, and tried some caldo de frutas, moonshine!

That night was my birthday (August 2nd) and I went out for dinner with Kriss to this fancy fondue restaurant called Teritulianos. The following day I had a little fiesta, and drank some of my Yager, which was a much appreciated present from my sister. I celebrated my birthday 2 nights in a row and it was fantastic (actually 3 nights because that Tuesday I got to go out with my folks).


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

In ZunilIn Zunil
In Zunil

Just outside San Simon´s crib


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb