Escape to Guatemala June 10-28


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone! So it has been about 4 years since my last blog entry. A lot has happened since then. After returning from my last trip to Argentina in summer 2009, I began graduate school in clinical psychology in Baltimore, Maryland. 4 years down and 1 more to go. To say it has been a long road would be an understatement. Next month in July I will be starting the next phase, a 1 year full-time internship at a community mental health clinic in Denver, Colorado. Before I do that, I decided I needed a little vacation to rejuvenate. As previous readers of my blog know, I have a weak spot for Latin America. This time I will find myself in Guatemala for 18 days. Why? Besides the obvious answer of "Why not?" I decided upon Guatemala after some research and recommendations from other travelers. I had already been to many of the Spanish-speaking countries in South America, and the flight costs proved prohibitive this time around, even more than Europe (I am a graduate student, after all). Besides for Mexico and Cuba, I had not explored Central America so I thought this was a perfect opportunity to do so. After some research and word-of-mouth recommendations, I settled on Guatemala. There is much to explore, including lakes, volcanoes, old colonial towns, jungles and rivers, mountains, Mayan ruins and plenty of culture. Another added bonus is that I get to brush up on my Spanish a little bit. It's gotten a little rusty. I'll be using it in my work in Denver, which has a large Latino population, so a couple weeks in Guatemala will do the trick.

Between school and moving out of Baltimore, I have been too busy to do much planning for my trip. Over the coming days I will iron out an itinerary. Unlike my previous trips down south which lasted anywhere from 2 to 4 months, this time I have just 18 days. I know, that's still more vacation days than most people get in a year! This means that I will have to keep to a stricter schedule than I have before. I am leaving for Guatemala this Monday, June 10th. I wanted to submit this first entry now so that you all know to be on the lookout for future emails. Each time I post an entry, you will automatically get an email from Travelblog.org. Please add this email address:

webmaster@travelblog.org

to your contact list so that the emails do not go to your spam folder. I hope to post entries 2-3 times per week, time and Internet access permitting. I have met tons of people over the last 4 years and have added a number of people to my subscriber list. I hope I did not miss anyone. I am excited that you will all be able to follow me on my journey.

Hasta luego,

Bernie

P.S. In case you have not seen the entries from my previous 2 trips, you can go here:

http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/Bernie-D/

and read through some of them, since I am sure you have oh so much free time and absolutely nothing to do!

Advertisement



5th June 2013

Thanks Bernhard!
Viel Spass und eine gute Reise...bin gespannt...
8th June 2013

Go Bernie! Sounds beautiful. Hope to catch you in July.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb