Lost by the Lake


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

on the balconeyon the balconeyon the balconey

All of these pictures were taken on Justin aka Mr Jones's camera. Many thanks to him for lending it to me. The aerial shots of the parade were taken by his good self.
The Lake is an amazing place with beautiful views and a peaceful air about it; however it wasn’t what I was expecting. I definitely wasn’t expecting San Pedro, it took me by surprise. I’d followed some friends out here and by the time I got here they were partied out and leaving the following day. I thought to myself, ´give it a couple of days and I’ll be off too´. Especially as the first sights I saw where scary hollow faced bearded hippies. It was like being at Glastonbury days after the event has ended, where most people have gone and only the serious (permanent) casualties walk around like lost ghosts.

But then I chilled right the hell out, right the hell out and stayed for 8 days. I mostly ate, drank smoked and slept with some drumming and shaking thrown in for good measure on a balcony overlooking the Lake. I stayed at this place called Jarachik (sweet dreams in the native Mayan tongue. The place was a real honey trap. The rooms are cheap, clean and large. The food is truly amazing; the owners are very pleasant and inviting. And there was a good crew of travellers in it. It was kind of like a holiday within a holiday, very strange but absolutely needed.

I spent my birthday there and had a blinding time, it is Independence Day for several countries in Central America and they laid on the parades and bands. All good, I felt honoured. The day consisted of sumptuous meals, fat bifters, jamming on the balcony, beer and tequila, a heady mix and just right for the occasion. I had an absolute ball thanks to Jason who you should only tell its your birthday if you seriously want to party.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

all for me2all for me2
all for me2

The celebrations for my birthday thinly vailed as Independance Day celebrations.
all for meall for me
all for me

The celebrations for my birthday thinly vailed as Independance Day celebrations.
it´s me birthdayit´s me birthday
it´s me birthday

and what a way to start the day with a free fruit mountain pancake from Mark one of the Jarachik owners


6th November 2006

Jarachik
Is this word "Jarachik" from the local Tzutinil or is it Cachiquel? I live in Pana, on the other side of the lake, and am not familiar with that word. If you are interested, I've posted some
29th November 2006

HI... original words in tzutuxil JAR ACHI´K which means a dream... putted together to make it more pronouncable... so now... JARACHIK TEAM JARA

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb