The black hole of San Pedro


Advertisement

Volcan AtitlanVolcan AtitlanVolcan Atitlan

This is the view across the lake to Volcan Atitlan. There is a local fisherman to the lower right.
I call it a black hole because San Pedro is the type of place that pulls you in and keeps you, for longer than you intended. I can feel the pull of S.P. getting stronger by the day.

The hostel I am staying in here is quite nice. It´s the kind of place where you could sit around all day and just hang out with whoever happens to be there at the time and it never seems strange. There is a pleasant outside open area where everyone just chills out all the time. It really is quite nice to relax for a few days.

I simply can´t get over how beautiful it is here on Lago de Atitlan. Everyday I walk on the road near the lake and everyday I am just floored by the beautiful views. I hope some of the pictures I post in this entry will be able to hint at the great scenery I´ve only begun to grow accustomed to.

It´s been a nice couple of days since my last entry. The other night, one of the smaller bars around here had an informal open-mic night, and a ton of people came by to play music. There were a few people that played guitar, along with a ton of other people playing drums, like African-style. There were quite a few moments when there were three different people playing drums, and they all improvised and played together amazingly.

I´m finally going to post some more pictures, even though I haven´t taken any for a few days. These are from the cliff-jumping trip on Tuesday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb