Oh Back to School


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Guatemala so Far


Our boat to Guatemala Our boat to Guatemala Our boat to Guatemala

We took off in a little boat across the caribbean from Belize to Guatemala. This is our smoker.
It took two days, three bus rides, and three boat rides to get to San Pedro la Laguna in Guatemala. Each boat ride was a little like Mr. Toad´s Wild Ride on water - a splashing good time with our personal flotation devices securely fastened. Now we´re in a gorgeous, Spanish-speaking Lake Tahoe surrounded by mountains and volcanos, and it feels good to mingle with these friendly Guatemaltecas again.

Upon our return, Trev and I lived it up with some lake swimming and volcano viewing from a tree house-like hotel room with the first hot water in two weeks and Home Alone en español (since we´ll miss it over the holidays). We were shocked that the streets of our new home smelled like a big, used Huggies diaper. We thought it was just the gringo hippies that fill the streets with crunchy jewelry and the restaurants with space cookies (drum circles are forming). But with a little research, we discovered it´s actually the refuse of the coffee beans they grow here. I sure could use the nose sweater my Dad might manufacture.

The natives here always pester us to buy things like scarves, table runners, horse rides, kayaks, you
Our first glimpse of Lago AtitlanOur first glimpse of Lago AtitlanOur first glimpse of Lago Atitlan

This is our new home for almost 3 weeks.
name it. But the best things for sale are the baked goods - bread, muffins and chocolate cake are huge here. We always turn down the cake, but sometimes we just can´t resist the banana and coconut bread that ladies carry in a bowls on their heads.

On Sunday, we moved in with a native Mayan family and they are faaaantastic. The mom loves to cook so every meal has been delicious Guatemalan fare. Trev and I had our first tortilla lesson today. She also has her own b-day and wedding cake biz, so cake decorating classes start this weekend. We started Spanish classes yesterday, where we sip tea and study español under grass huts in the morning. In the afternoon, we study español, watch our new little bro´s futbol (soccer) games, learn to salsa, and tour the steep hills of our town.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Starting to look familiarStarting to look familiar
Starting to look familiar

Liz may have a small hammock problem.
Our local GoldenOur local Golden
Our local Golden

The only dog here that is not a mutt and is not in the streets barking at night.
Where is curious George?Where is curious George?
Where is curious George?

I felt like the man in the yellow hat
Back To SchoolBack To School
Back To School

With my new puppy notebook and my shoes tied tight...I hope I dont get in a fight.


8th August 2007

The twins
Photos of Trevor in "Go Slow" and "Oh Back to School" are really reminding me of someone I know in Manitou named Mark. A haunting resemblance. I think you know him.
26th August 2007

Prayer Part II
I the Lord will bless and keep you And give you peace; I the Lord will smile upon you And give you peace: I the Lord will be your Father, Savior, Comforter, and Brother. Go, My children; I will keep you And give you peace. It's Sunday, and I heard another prayer today that reminded me of you and your journey!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb