Lake Atitlan and San Marcos


Advertisement

Lake Atitlan and San Marcos

Hannh and I got away for the weekend. It took about 2 hours to get to the lake. What a beautiful place!

When I got into my room ($6/night with a shared bath; the most expensive place is around $40/night), I noticed the light didn´t work. When I looked at the ceiling light, there was no light bulb. So, down to the desk I went to ask for a light bulb. Keep in mind that very few people here speak English, and, of course, neither did the woman at the desk. I told her there was no light in my room, and she giggled. I quickly realized that I had said in Spanish, "There is no light in my food." Well, "cuarto" (room) and "comida" (food) are close, aren´t they? Needless to say, my Spanish is far from perfect.

Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

See the man meditating under the far pyramid?See the man meditating under the far pyramid?
See the man meditating under the far pyramid?

San Marcos had many alternative therapy centers for massage, yoga, pyramid meditating, etc.
Letting sleeping dogs lieLetting sleeping dogs lie
Letting sleeping dogs lie

There are stray dogs everywhere I´ve seen in Guatemala.
Walls made with recycled bottlesWalls made with recycled bottles
Walls made with recycled bottles

San Marcos is a very eco-friendly place; at least that´s what they advertise
Main drag in San MarcosMain drag in San Marcos
Main drag in San Marcos

Actually, it´s just the main drag from the dock through the tourist areas. The locals live above the tourist area and the main road divides the two.


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb